Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

February 23, 2014

Western HS musicians advance to state competition

From Staff Reports
Kokomo Tribune

---- — RUSSIAVILLE — More than 30 student musicians from Western high school and middle school are advancing to the state solo and ensemble competition March 1 at North Central High School in Indianapolis.

The students achieved the honor by earning gold ratings in Group 1 level performances at the district level of the competition, sponsored by the Indiana State School Music Association. The local district meet was conducted Feb. 8 at Kokomo High School.

High school soloists moving on to state are: Carolyn Kelley on flute and piccolo, Jamie Edwards on flute, Riley Beall on flute, Courtney Rager on clarinet, Mikaela Knight on clarinet, Natalie Ballew on clarinet, Paige Wild on clarinet, Audrey Freeman on horn, Jessica Hopkins on horn, Kimberly Miller on horn, Riley Girton on trombone, Megan Deck on euphonium, Austin Hozey on tuba, Christian Sexton on tuba, Alexis Hopkins on marimba, Joshua Maurice on marimba, Michael Rennaker on marimba, Alex Knight on snare drum, Joshua Maurice on snare drum and Cody DeHaven on snare drum.

Seven large and small instrumental ensembles from Western High School also earned gold ratings and will advance to state. Those ensembles include: the Girton Low Brass Ensemble, made up of Riley Girton, Noah Seitz, Megan Deck, Austin Hunter, Christian Sexton, Samuel Griffin, Austin Hozey, Zach Zentz, Corbin Phillabaum, Hannah Mooney, Cameron Rice and Jared Rothe; the DeHaven Large Brass Ensemble, made up of Kirsten DeHaven, Mason Landrum, Cesar Terron, Austin Hunter, Kimberly Miller, Austin Hozey, Audrey Freeman, Megan Deck, Jared Rothe, Jayden Wallsmith, Casey Wilson, Kelley Edwards, Lily Lipinski, Riley Girton, Noah Seitz, Corbin Phillabaum, Hannah Mooney, Jacob Zentz, Jessica Hopkins and Zach Zentz; the Terron Trumpet Choir, made up of Cesar Terron, Kirsten DeHaven, Kelley Edwards, Casey Wilson, Lily Lipinski and Mason Landrum; the Terron Trumpet Trio, made up of Cesar Terron, Lily Lipinski and Casey Wilson; the Beall Flute Quartet, made up of Riley Beall, Jamie Edwards, Carolyn Kelley and Macey Bickford; the Mullins Woodwind Quintet, made up of Emily Mullins, Mikaela Knight, Ellie Walters, Paige Wild and Courtney Rager; and the Wallsmith Horn Sextet, made up of Jayden Wallsmith, Jessica Hopkins, Kimberly Miller, Audrey Freeman, Jacob Zentz and Delany Enyart.

Three Western Middle School students also will advance to the state competition after having earned gold honors for Group 1 solo performances. Group 1 performances are generally reserved for high school musicians.

Those eighth grade gold medalists are Hannah Myers on flute, Kaitlyn Sanders on flute and Parker Gillem on snare drum.

The following WHS Group 1 instrumentalists received silver ratings: Macey Bickford on flute, Emily Zentz on oboe, Carly Seitz on bassoon, Miranda Pressgrove on alto sax, Cesar Terron on trumpet, Kirsten DeHaven on trumpet, Joe Penrod on marimba and Kelley Edwards on trumpet.

While not competing in the Group 1 performance category, these instrumentalists did receive superior gold ratings: Taylor Frey on flute, Bailey Spencer on flute, Carrissa Cripe on flute, Hannah Guillaume on flute, Ashley Conyers on clarinet, Ellie Walters on clarinet, Mikaylin Fulk on clarinet, Desirae Moreno on tenor sax, Corbin Phillabaum on trombone and euphonium, Derek Swank on marimba, Michael Rennaker on snare drum and timpani, Conner Loveless on snare drum, Garrett Fagel on snare drum, a flute trio made up of Taylor Dittfield, Alyssa Fearnow and Macey Bickford; woodwind trio of Cameron Cumbo, Carly Seitz and Courtney Rager; woodwind trio of Esther Mullins, Ashley Conyers and Adi Smith; and saxophone quartet of Zack Myers, Desirae Moreno, Miranda Pressgrove and Emma Nixon.

The following WMS soloists earned gold ratings in ISSMA contest groups two through five:

Hailee Pearson, Jenna Longwith and Kinsey Smith on flute; Rachel Corwin, Brianna Hubble, Kaitlyn Isaac, Meghan Kataria, Isabelle Origer, Joseline Hernandez, Nicole Ancil and Sara Penrod on clarinet; Cassidy Rager and Emily Benziger on alto sax; Drew Jarrell, Ethan Lutgen, Faith Bradley, Jorge Hernandez, Rebecca Sexton and Taylor Godfrey on trumpet; Delaney Enyart, Kaylee Hartman and Rachel Zentz on horn; Justice Williams and Elie Cuevas on trombone; Gavin Loftis on euphonium; Travin Collins on tuba; Nathanael Knight, Tate Lockwood, Madelin Kunkle, Noah Stranahan and Rebecca Penrod on marimba; and Brady Dittfield, Tate Lockwood, Zach Shepard, Alec Loveless, Haylee Paschal, Matt Paschal, Nathanael Knight, Samantha Garber and Madeline Kunkle on snare drum.

The following WMS ensembles also earned gold in groups two through five: flute trio of Elizabeth Garber, Emma Weber and Carmen Gorsuch; clarinet trio of Bella Kirby, Brianna Hubble and Kaitlyn Isaac; sax trio of Emily Benziger, Cassidy Rager and Torriya Hill; woodwind trio of Kaitlyn Sanders, Hannah Myers and Mason Godfrey; flute quartet of Alex Parr, Esther Mullins, Hailee Pearson, and Jennah Worthington; clarinet quartet of Rachel Corwin, Ryan Keller, Meghan Kataria and Isabelle Orige; clarinet quartet of Austin McMinn, Conner Hartsough, Ryan Keller and Thomas Gatewood; brass trio of Justice Williams, Abby Snyder and Delaney Enyart; brass trio of Kaylee Hartman, Rachel Zentz and Madison Copenhaver; brass trio of Eric Cumbo, Ariel Marley and Kaylee Hartman; brass quartet of Faith Bradley, Jorge Hernandez, David Djemland and Elie Cuevas; and large brass ensemble of Travin Collins, Jason Edwards, Ben Carter, Ariel Marley, Rachel Zentz, Eric Cumbo, Isaac Woolace and Nathaniel Beam.

The following WMS students received a silver rating at the district contest: Elizabeth Garber and Alex Parr on flute, Bella Kirby on clarinet, Connor Short and Cole Lockwood on snare drum, snare trio of Katie Babbs, Alex Loveless and Matt Paschal; woodwind trio of Jennah Worthington, Erica Babb and Jenna Longworth; and woodwind trio of Iris McQuiston, Haley Rowe and Grace Guillaume.