Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

April 6, 2014

Tipton County 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar named

From Staff Reports
Kokomo Tribune

---- — TIPTON COUNTY — A Tri-Central High School senior has been named the recipient of a full-tuition, four-year scholarship as the Tipton County Foundation 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar.

Courtney Zickmund will receive full tuition to the Indiana college of her choice and a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment. Zickmund is the daughter of Frank and Trisha Zickmund, of Windfall. She will attend Purdue University to major in pre-dentistry. Zickmund is the president of the student council, a 10-year member of 4-H and a Hoosier Girls State delegate. In addition, she is a member of her varsity soccer team and a participant in the Tri-Central Newscast.

Seventeen Tipton County residents applied for this prestigious and valuable scholarship this year. Their applications were reviewed anonymously and independently by the Foundation’s scholarship committee, composed of education and business leaders, who selected five candidates to be interviewed in person. The criteria included academics, leadership, community involvement, activities (including work and travel experiences) and an essay about their most significant accomplishment to date.

After completing the nomination process, the Tipton County Foundation submitted the finalists’ names to the Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. for selection of the recipient. ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally-accredited degree-granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.

The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education. There were 143 scholarships awarded statewide.

Thanks to the bequest of Howard N. Myerly, who established a significant George R. Myerly and Sons scholarship fund in memory of his grandfather, the Tipton County Foundation is able to grant Myerly Scholarships of $2,000 each to the remaining four finalists in the demanding Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship process.

The 2014 Myerly Scholars include: Ashley Devore, Lauren Glassburn, Sarah Letsinger and Benjamin Puckett.

Devore is a senior at Tri-Central High School and the daughter of Jerry and Tracie Devore, of Sharpsville. She will attend Indiana Wesleyan University to major in pre-medicine. Devore is the vice president of the National Honor Society and the secretary of the senior class. She also is a member of the Academic Bowl team, the varsity volleyball team and the Bible Baptist youth group.

Glassburn is a senior at Tipton High School and the daughter of Rick and Ruth Glassburn, of Tipton. She will attend Purdue University to major in pharmaceutical sciences. She is involved in band, Science Club and the cross country and tennis teams. She also volunteers at Agape Therapeutic Riding Center.

Letsinger is the daughter of Matt and Jane Letsinger, of Tipton, and a senior at Tipton High School. She will attend Purdue University to major in agronomy. Letsinger is a vice president of FFA and heavily involved in livestock judging. She also is a member of National Honor Society and National Art Honors Society.

Puckett is the son of Bruce and Tracie Puckett, of Sharpsville, and a senior at Tri-Central. He will attend Purdue University to pursue social studies education. Puckett is the senior class treasurer and vice president of SADD. He is also a member of the varsity soccer and baseball teams, as well as the St. Luke’s United Methodist Church youth group.

“The size of [the George R. Myerly and Sons] endowment is so noteworthy, it will produce a significant amount of money that can be awarded each year,” said TCF scholarship chairman Larry Graves. “We were pleased that Mr. Myerly’s heirs agreed with us that the rigorous Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship selection process was the best way to determine who should receive the Myerly scholarships as well.”

Howard Myerly established the scholarship fund to pay tribute to his grandfather by arranging to sell a Tipton County farm that had been in the family for five generations upon his death. Proceeds from the sale were given to the Tipton County Foundation to create the George R. Myerly and Sons scholarship fund.

Contributions to the Tipton County Foundation are tax-deductible under section 501(c)(3) and the public charity provisions of sections 509 and 170 of the Internal Revenue Code. The IRS recognized TCF in July 1986 as exempt from federal income tax. The Foundation is confirmed in compliance with national standards for U.S. community foundations and a member of the Indiana Association of United Ways. Visit www.tiptoncf.org or call 765-675-1943 for more information.