Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

June 28, 2010

KHS chapter earns awards at state FBLA conference

The Future Business Leaders of America chapter of Kokomo High School captured seven first-place awards, including community service project and partnership with business report, and earned 42 top seven awards at the 2010 State Conference.

Special recognition was awarded to KHS Co-Presidents William Zhao and Emily Bays for serving as 2009-2010 state president and state treasurer, respectively. In addition, Andrew Ellison was elected 2010-2011 state vice president, and KHS teacher Vicki Geheb earned the 2010 Indiana FBLA Adviser of the Year Award.

The following KHS Chapter members are eligible to compete at the National FBLA Leadership Conference in Nashville July 14-17 after placing first or second in their events: First: Kaylee Johnson, global business; Dalton Hatt, impromptu speaking; Courtney Burton, public speaking; Jashaun Bottoms, business communications; Ashley Lobeck and Jackie Schick, management decisions; Second: Jackson Huff, business law; Annika Taber, business math; Melinda Tetrault, computer problem solving; Burton and Shayla Elmore, emerging business issues; Glenda Hernandez, FBLA procedures; Hatt, economics; Zhao, future leader; Johnson, job interview, and Ellison, public speaking.

KHS chapter members who earned top seven state FBLA awards included: Third: Vijayta Joshi, business communications; Tyler Horoho. computer apps; Bottoms, FBLA procedures; Bays, Johnson, and Joshi, global business; Elmore, business; Jesse Broomfield, technology concepts; Fourth: Lobeck and Schick, business ethics; Johnson, economics; Joshi, business; Zhao, public speaking; and Bays, Who’s Who; Fifth: Rebecca Bender, accounting; Tetrault, calculations; Elmore, business math; Huff, procedures; Bottoms, computer apps; Hernandez, job interview; Sixth: Brodric Malone, word processing; Seventh: Jordan Broomfield, procedures; Shianne Burger, word processing; Amy Lovegrove, procedures; Alex Reagle, marketing; Brandie Skaggs, communication; and Jared Wolford, word processing.