Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

June 13, 2010

KHS juniors chosen for Girls State

— Kokomo High School juniors Kathry Moody, Abby Rolland, Emily Booher, Jacy Rush, Isabella Manfredi, Eileen Oaks and Ellen Ewbank have been selected as Hoosier Girls State delegates by the American Legion Auxiliary Unit 6 of Kokomo.

These girls will join approximately 700 other young women for the government program designed to educate our leaders of tomorrow in the duties, privileges, rights and responsibilities of citizenship. This session of government and practical politics is non-partisan and non-political. It will be June 20 to 26 at Indiana State University in Terre Haute.

The sponsors of Kokomo 6 delegates are the American Legion, the Sons of the American Legion, Judson Baptist Church, Rotary Club, The Marine Corps League, McGonigals Buick, Eriks Chevrolet, Crume Evans Insurance, Jerry Butler and Brian Cossell of State Farm Insurance, Shirley and Stout Funeral Home, Jansen's Taxphalt, Dr. Prather, Granny's Furniture, Robin and Shannon Armstrong, Walter Brown and Jenna Bergren and some anonymous donations. For additional information about Hoosier Girls State or to make a donation so that alternates can attend, call Sue Comerford, Unit Hoosier Girls State chairman, at 765-452-3127.