Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 26, 2013

His legacy will live on

Last week, we marked an anniversary of a day a generation wishes it could forget but can’t.

Friday was the 50th anniversary of the assassination of John Fitzgerald Kennedy. Every detail of that day is indelibly etched into the minds of anyone who was alive on Nov. 22, 1963.

It’s a day that still leaves a generation mournful and numb. It’s a day an entire nation felt the pain of the assassin’s gun.

The firing of that gun is a moment that changed a generation. It is a moment when time froze in place and hasn’t moved since in the memories of many. As you sifted through our readers’ memories of that day in our Nov. 17 edition, you found it’s a moment that’s as fresh now as it was 50 years ago.

You saw how readers remember the minute details of that day. In the days following Kennedy’s death, they say, it seemed as if time slowed down.

It was a moment in which so much was lost. Not just in Kennedy’s death, but in the hope and inspiration he had instilled in our nation.

He was able to focus the country’s attention beyond war to a vision of peacetime potential. The blueprints for the nation’s civil rights revolution, Head Start, Medicare and the Peace Corps were all Kennedy’s dreams. Many of his dreams have been realized. For some, we seem to lose sight of his path.

Kennedy hit office with these dreams and others squarely in his targets. He pointed minds to the stars and gave the nation a deadline to achieve a goal it wasn’t certain could be reached.

It was Kennedy who asked Americans to ask what they could do for their country, but who also provided a plan for what the American government had to do for the country and the world — another dream we’ve lost sight of.

So on Nov. 22, 1963, we didn’t just lose our president. We lost our visionary. Our tomorrow.

For those who shared the belief in Kennedy’s destiny, his legacy will live on and Nov. 22 will forever be more than just another cold November day.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Smoking ordinance misguided As a subscriber to the printed edition of the Kokomo Tribune, and a non-smoker, I was very interested upon seeing a page one article in the Aug. 13 edition titled “City-wide ban on smoking revealed.” After reading the article, my interest was peaked

    August 22, 2014

  • Why government openness matters Failing to share information makes us weaker. It enfeebles congressional oversight, which is a cornerstone of representative democracy and which, when aggressively carried out by fully informed legislators, can strengthen policy-making. One of the fu

    August 22, 2014

  • Aug. 22: Letters to the Editor Rokita wrong on GMOsThe Aug. 13 Tribune article about Rokita’s “Town Hall Meeting” left out a key issue — Rokita’s co-sponsorship of HR4432. This bill would ban mandatory labeling of currently genetically modified foods and prohibit any state from en

    August 22, 2014

  • Use the law to save lives As college students head back to campus, it’s a good time to remind them of the Indiana Lifeline Law.When the General Assembly passed the law two years ago, the goal was to encourage minors to call for help by giving them immunity from being prosecut

    August 22, 2014

  • It's time to deal with crisis For five and a half years, the president has gone around Congress to ignore, defy and alter laws in a variety of areas, from Obamacare implementation to issuing excessive new labor and environmental rules to infringing on religious freedom. It is no

    August 21, 2014

  • Nation must be united On Aug. 9, unarmed 18-year-old Michael Brown was shot at least six times, including twice in the head, by a police officer. Since that time, protestors and unrest have filled the streets of Ferguson, Missouri, a town near St. Louis.A similar scenario

    August 21, 2014

  • John understands fight against mental illness Terre Haute native Tommy John understands all too well how the pain of depression can lead a talented entertainer like Robin Williams to commit suicide.Like Williams, John achieved national fame, posting 288 victories as a major league baseball pitch

    August 21, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor Former Kokomoan on FergusonI was a resident of Kokomo from 1992 to 2008. Because of the housing crisis, my wife and I relocated to the St. Louis, Missouri area, which is close to where I grew up. With the eyes of the world focused upon the St. Louis

    August 21, 2014

  • OPN - KT082014 - king What Fergusonsays about us Aug. 9 is a day that Americans lost sight of themselves. It is the day Michael Brown, an 18-year-old black teenager of Ferguson, Mo., a suburb of St. Louis, was shot and killed by a white police officer, Darren Wilson. That evening, and for all but o

    August 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the editor Congrats on wind farm defeat Congratulations to the citizens of Kokomo and Howard County! Your officials have done you a great favor by stopping any further considerations for construction of industrial wind turbines in your area. Now, if the fede

    August 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Okla. Policeman Accused of Sex Assaults on Duty Raw: Egypt Bus Crash Kills at Least 33 Two Bodies Found in Adjacent Yards Dominican Republic Bans Miley Cyrus Concert Raw: Israeli Air Strike in Gaza Raw: Rescue Efforts Suspended at Japan Landslide Raw: Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in Malaysia Raw: Smaller Marches in Ferguson Marathon Suspect's Friend Pleads Guilty Attorney: Utah Eatery Had Other Chemical Burn Farm Resurgence Grows With Younger Crowd Microbrewery Chooses Special Can for Its Beer Ky. Firefighters Hurt in Ice Bucket Challenge Federal Investigation Will Look at Use of Force Community Deals With Michael Brown Aftermath US: We Do Not Pay Ransom to Terrorists Ferguson Teachers Training to Deal With Trauma Jon Hamm on the Unrest in Ferguson Tit for Tat? McDonald's Shuttered in Moscow Life on the Professional Video Game Circuit
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll