Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

November 26, 2013

His legacy will live on

Last week, we marked an anniversary of a day a generation wishes it could forget but can’t.

Friday was the 50th anniversary of the assassination of John Fitzgerald Kennedy. Every detail of that day is indelibly etched into the minds of anyone who was alive on Nov. 22, 1963.

It’s a day that still leaves a generation mournful and numb. It’s a day an entire nation felt the pain of the assassin’s gun.

The firing of that gun is a moment that changed a generation. It is a moment when time froze in place and hasn’t moved since in the memories of many. As you sifted through our readers’ memories of that day in our Nov. 17 edition, you found it’s a moment that’s as fresh now as it was 50 years ago.

You saw how readers remember the minute details of that day. In the days following Kennedy’s death, they say, it seemed as if time slowed down.

It was a moment in which so much was lost. Not just in Kennedy’s death, but in the hope and inspiration he had instilled in our nation.

He was able to focus the country’s attention beyond war to a vision of peacetime potential. The blueprints for the nation’s civil rights revolution, Head Start, Medicare and the Peace Corps were all Kennedy’s dreams. Many of his dreams have been realized. For some, we seem to lose sight of his path.

Kennedy hit office with these dreams and others squarely in his targets. He pointed minds to the stars and gave the nation a deadline to achieve a goal it wasn’t certain could be reached.

It was Kennedy who asked Americans to ask what they could do for their country, but who also provided a plan for what the American government had to do for the country and the world — another dream we’ve lost sight of.

So on Nov. 22, 1963, we didn’t just lose our president. We lost our visionary. Our tomorrow.

For those who shared the belief in Kennedy’s destiny, his legacy will live on and Nov. 22 will forever be more than just another cold November day.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll