Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 12, 2013

DAVID THARP: Playing politics on safety

— Howard County government is overrun with officials who ignore the fact that the city of Kokomo is in the county, and that Kokomo taxpayers are also Howard County taxpayers.

Perhaps this is because county government is dominated by Republicans and has contempt for the city, which has Democratic leadership. Or perhaps it is just a groupthink mentality they adopt after getting elected.

Either way, it is both an insult and a financial injury to the citizens of Howard County, who live inside the city of Kokomo. It stings even more when the elected officials doing the forgetting are supposed to represent Kokomo residents. Which brings us to Commissioner Tyler Moore.

Commissioner Moore is elected from District 2, which encompasses all of Center Township, of which 98 percent overlaps the city of Kokomo. It is the most populated commissioner district, which includes more than 68 percent of the population and 99 percent of the businesses in Howard County.

In a recent news article, Moore stated that every municipality in Howard County, except Kokomo, should be covered by county dispatch contributions and that Kokomo residents should have to pay twice — once as a county resident and once as a city resident. Why should Kokomo taxpayers pay twice? Is it because they have a Democratic mayor? Is it because the city council has a Democratic majority? Why is Moore playing partisan politics with the safety of his constituents?

Commissioner Moore, when are you going to start representing the businesses and people in District 2?

The new dispatch proposal put forth by the city of Kokomo is forward-looking. The city council vote to restart the dispatch negotiations was bipartisan, unanimous, and it was the first step in crafting a long-term, equitable and efficient dispatch agreement.

Commissioner Moore should be a bit more honest and open with his constituents and tell the public the truth. More than 70 percent of property taxes and 80 percent of Howard County 911 money comes from the taxpayers of Kokomo. Every resident and business in the city pays these taxes, yet Moore personally threatened all of them that he would force them to pay more for dispatch and “go back to the system used before the merger.” Those were his words, not mine.

With conduct like this, I wouldn’t be too surprised if Commissioner Moore planned on charging and taxing Kokomo residents exclusively to pay for the other county services they already support with their tax dollars. What’s next, a special tax for Kokomo residents only when they visit the county clerk’s office?

Tyler Moore needs to do his job and represent the interests of the majority of people and taxpayers in Howard County and be their voice. Unfortunately, the only thing Commissioner Moore seems interested in lately is furthering his ongoing conflict of interest with Commissioner Wyman (or Developer Wyman, or Realtor Wyman, or whichever version of Paul Wyman shows up), so that Paul will continue to send vast amounts of title work to Moore Title and Escrow.

Tyler Moore can keep forgetting about his constituents, but you can be sure they won’t forget about his failure to look out for them.

David Tharp is chairman of the Howard County Democratic Party. Contact him at davidlewis.tharp@gmail.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll