Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 1, 2013

Indiana aims at outbreaks

More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.

The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infection’s spread and held a free vaccination clinic at Western Primary School.

Two hundred ninety Western students and staff were found in need of a booster shot. County health officials couldn’t accommodate such a large number. They had just 103 doses in stock at the time.

So state health officials solicited nearly 200 doses from other counties.

Not everyone participated in the clinic. As a result, 35 students missed the next three weeks of school because their parents declined immunization for their children.

Last year’s chickenpox outbreak at Western — and another three months earlier at Taylor Community School Corp. — spotlights the importance of immunizations to public health. And new vaccination guidelines announced in January by the state health department could help prevent another area outbreak.

The new rules require two chickenpox vaccinations for every child in every grade, unless the student can prove he or she contracted the disease in the past.

Previously, some grade levels were required to have only one vaccination for the illness. And at Western, all five of the fifth-graders infected with chickenpox in 2012 had received the inoculation but weren’t scheduled for a booster until the following year.

If you have had chickenpox once, there’s a chance you could have it again. In one study reported by the United Kingdom’s National Health System, about 1 in 8 people suffering chickenpox reported they had had it once before.

Fortunately, the Howard County Health Department makes it easy for families to get vaccinations. It hosts weekly children’s immunization clinics, and free or low-cost vaccinations are available to all resident families without immunization coverage or health insurance.

For the health of your child and the safety of their classmates and community, don’t ignore their immunizations.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: Indiana: Pro-adoption or just a 'deadbeat parent' This past week we’ve learned the state of Indiana has essentially stiffed 1,400 families who have adopted special needs children. The subsidies they were promised to raise kids in the state’s foster child program have been denied, prompting one LaPor

    July 14, 2014

  • DAN COATS: Rights of conscience must be safeguarded The Supreme Court recently issued a ruling that marked an important development in the ongoing national debate on religious freedom.In a 5-4 decision, the court ruled the contraception coverage mandate, imposed by the Obama administration under the A

    July 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Calling for an update According to a national research firm, most people over 65 do not own a cellphone. This is in contrast to the millennials who admit the first thing they do in the morning and the last thing they do each night is check their mobile phone. It must be n

    July 14, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Eliminate distractions for teen drivers Eliminate distractions for teen drivers A recent study shows Indiana is the worst state in the country when it comes to teen driver fatalities. The study, done by WalletHub, a personal finance website, ranks Indiana 50th behind Kentucky and New Mexic

    July 14, 2014

  • Code reforms need funding People who commit the most violent of crimes in Indiana soon will serve longer prison sentences. Fewer people who are convicted of low-level felonies soon will be sentenced to prison. Local judges now have more latitude when handing down sentences. O

    July 13, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Unofficial 'Hoosierisms' stylebook gets update I am one of these guys who loves to play with language. I love to play Bog (a variation of Boggle) on my computer. When someone uses a different term or pronounces a word differently, I usually pick it up immediately. I find it fascinating. If you en

    July 13, 2014

  • LETTERS: 'God's justice system' needs to be adopted 'God's justice system' needs to be adopted We don't have a justice system. It is just a system. With all the shootings and murders in the news, especially in the last couple of weeks, I have not heard one lawmaker or politician suggest the swift and

    July 13, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: A small business ranking The Kauffman Foundation recently released a study measuring the friendliness of each state to small businesses. While the study suffered most of the extreme weaknesses of survey research — especially small samples and the bias of opinion over action

    July 13, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Garage sale draws 200 Garage sale draws 200Joyce Heady of Kokomo sends the Cheer to the community:“Starting with a great ad in the Kokomo Tribune, our Spina Bifida Garage Sale was a success.“My great-grandson has spina bifida. Our family and friends want to help find a cu

    July 12, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Listen to your elders My life as a youngster was one that prepared me for today. In my time, the rule was to respect our elders.They had already been through all the hard times, and were able to instruct you on what is the best way to go. They were the best type of people

    July 12, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Argentina Fans Sad but Proud in Loss Germany Wins the World Cup 1-0 Raw: Violence Mars Argentina's WC Celebration Jails Struggle With Role As Makeshift Asylums NYC Artist Creates Wearable Armor Sculpture Raw: Thousands Celebrate World Cup Win in Berlin Bull Run Comes to Middle America Malala Meets 'Bring Back Our Girls' Activists Space Station Shipment Launched From Virginia Israel Deploys Ground Troops to Gaza Strip World-renowned Conductor Lorin Maazel Dies Raw: Airstrike Creates Chaos on Gaza Streets Raw: Divers, Snorkelers at Undersea 'Concert' LeBron: Move Back to Cleveland 'Exciting' Joy Fills Streets of Cleveland As LeBron Returns Proposed Bill to Regulate NY Costumed Characters WH: LeBron's Move a 'Powerful Statement' Ana Ortiz on 'Devious Maids' Finale CDC Addresses Lab Safety Problems Texas Shooting Suspect Collapses in Court
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll