Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 4, 2012

Letters to the editor - Monday, Nov. 5, 2012

Vote no to retain

high court’s David

Two Indiana Supreme Court justices are on Tuesday’s ballot for a 10-year term in office. I am voting NO for one of them, Justice Steven David.

In May 2011 he wrote the majority opinion saying Indiana police officers have the right to enter homes without a search warrant, “... that there is no right to reasonably resist unlawful entry by police officers.”

The Fourth Amendment of the U.S. Bill of Rights guards against searches without warrants. Justice David seems to think this constitutionally guaranteed right is out of date. Look for his name on the ballot, and join me in voting NO to have Justice David retained.

Roberta Hite

Kokomo


A prayer for those

hurt by hurricane


Dear God,

We cannot believe the reports we hear from our Eastern states. Hurricane Sandy has struck, and scores of people have died. Entire communities are destroyed, people are stranded. So many homes lost, tunnels flooded, a congested New York City without power.

Father, we know this world is cursed, and that curse includes natural disasters. You sit as sovereign Lord over the universe. Though these tragedies perplex us, we remember that the victims of this disaster were no worse than the rest of us. Things seem to happen so randomly from our perspective.

Lord, you have a master plan that makes sense of these things. We admit to being at a loss. Your ways are higher than our ways, and, in the end, a greater good will come about.

Though perplexed and puzzled, we still trust you as the holy, good and sovereign Lord that you are. We can choose to go through this with you or without you; those are our choices. We choose to experience these events with you at our side. We choose to take your hand.

We pray for the victims of this natural catastrophe. We pray that you would keep them healthy and safe. We pray that you would help them cope with the horrendous losses, the trauma, the pain, the misery of it all. May many be drawn to you through this tragedy.

Please help the relief teams, including the National Guard. Give them wisdom, courage, emotional and physical energy. May their efforts be multiplied and their efficiency increased. Guide the leaders and officials to do what is in the best interest of their people. Prevent looting, and may neighborly concern prevail among the masses. Provide the necessary provisions and the means to get the supplies to match the needs. Help restore this part of our country to a normal state.

We pray in Jesus’ name, amen.

Ed Vasicek

Kokomo


‘Nobody could be

worse’ than Obama


The headline of Wednesday’s Kokomo Tribune reads “Chrysler’s net income up 80 percent.” The following article says third quarter earnings were $381 million.

That is third quarter, not 2012.

So why hasn’t Chrysler paid back the “loan” it got when it was about to go bankrupt? President Obama says the millions were not a “bailout” but a “loan.” Every loan I have ever received (auto or home), I had to pay back ... with interest.

General Motors has not fully paid back its “loan” either. A couple months ago, GM looked like it was going to need another “loan.”

Obama has issued hundreds of “loans” to hundreds of companies that mostly have gone belly-up shortly afterward. Can America even afford Obama another four years? Has Obama followed through with any of his 2008 campaign promises? Nope, they were all hot air, actually more like lies.

It doesn’t matter who replaces him, but if Obama is re-elected, in four more years there will be no United States of America. Nobody, and I mean nobody, could be worse.

Jack Fultz

Logansport

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Smoking ordinance misguided As a subscriber to the printed edition of the Kokomo Tribune, and a non-smoker, I was very interested upon seeing a page one article in the Aug. 13 edition titled “City-wide ban on smoking revealed.” After reading the article, my interest was peaked

    August 22, 2014

  • Why government openness matters Failing to share information makes us weaker. It enfeebles congressional oversight, which is a cornerstone of representative democracy and which, when aggressively carried out by fully informed legislators, can strengthen policy-making. One of the fu

    August 22, 2014

  • Aug. 22: Letters to the Editor Rokita wrong on GMOsThe Aug. 13 Tribune article about Rokita’s “Town Hall Meeting” left out a key issue — Rokita’s co-sponsorship of HR4432. This bill would ban mandatory labeling of currently genetically modified foods and prohibit any state from en

    August 22, 2014

  • Use the law to save lives As college students head back to campus, it’s a good time to remind them of the Indiana Lifeline Law.When the General Assembly passed the law two years ago, the goal was to encourage minors to call for help by giving them immunity from being prosecut

    August 22, 2014

  • It's time to deal with crisis For five and a half years, the president has gone around Congress to ignore, defy and alter laws in a variety of areas, from Obamacare implementation to issuing excessive new labor and environmental rules to infringing on religious freedom. It is no

    August 21, 2014

  • Nation must be united On Aug. 9, unarmed 18-year-old Michael Brown was shot at least six times, including twice in the head, by a police officer. Since that time, protestors and unrest have filled the streets of Ferguson, Missouri, a town near St. Louis.A similar scenario

    August 21, 2014

  • John understands fight against mental illness Terre Haute native Tommy John understands all too well how the pain of depression can lead a talented entertainer like Robin Williams to commit suicide.Like Williams, John achieved national fame, posting 288 victories as a major league baseball pitch

    August 21, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor Former Kokomoan on FergusonI was a resident of Kokomo from 1992 to 2008. Because of the housing crisis, my wife and I relocated to the St. Louis, Missouri area, which is close to where I grew up. With the eyes of the world focused upon the St. Louis

    August 21, 2014

  • OPN - KT082014 - king What Fergusonsays about us Aug. 9 is a day that Americans lost sight of themselves. It is the day Michael Brown, an 18-year-old black teenager of Ferguson, Mo., a suburb of St. Louis, was shot and killed by a white police officer, Darren Wilson. That evening, and for all but o

    August 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the editor Congrats on wind farm defeat Congratulations to the citizens of Kokomo and Howard County! Your officials have done you a great favor by stopping any further considerations for construction of industrial wind turbines in your area. Now, if the fede

    August 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US: We Do Not Pay Ransom to Terrorists Ferguson Teachers Training to Deal With Trauma Jon Hamm on the Unrest in Ferguson Tit for Tat? McDonald's Shuttered in Moscow Life on the Professional Video Game Circuit TX Gov Perry in Washington: 'Confident' in Case Hospital Releases Two Missionaries Who Had Ebola Ramen Health Risks: The Dark Side of the Noodle NYC Doctor-in-chief Seeks Community Approach Indonesian Police Fire Tear Gas at Protesters Raw: Shots Fired in Liberian Shantytown DOJ, Bank of America Reach Record Settlement Raw: Cubavision Airs Images of Fidel Castro Raw: Grief After Deadly Airstrikes in Gaza Officer Who Pointed Gun at Protesters Suspended Kathy Griffin Challenges Minaj to 'a Booty Off' Johnson: Six Arrests, No Tear Gas in Ferguson Raw: Rescue, Relief Efforts at Japan Landslide Cadavers, a Teen, and a Medical School Dream California Drought Stings Honeybees, Beekeepers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll