Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 4, 2012

Letters to the editor - Monday, Nov. 5, 2012

Vote no to retain

high court’s David

Two Indiana Supreme Court justices are on Tuesday’s ballot for a 10-year term in office. I am voting NO for one of them, Justice Steven David.

In May 2011 he wrote the majority opinion saying Indiana police officers have the right to enter homes without a search warrant, “... that there is no right to reasonably resist unlawful entry by police officers.”

The Fourth Amendment of the U.S. Bill of Rights guards against searches without warrants. Justice David seems to think this constitutionally guaranteed right is out of date. Look for his name on the ballot, and join me in voting NO to have Justice David retained.

Roberta Hite

Kokomo


A prayer for those

hurt by hurricane


Dear God,

We cannot believe the reports we hear from our Eastern states. Hurricane Sandy has struck, and scores of people have died. Entire communities are destroyed, people are stranded. So many homes lost, tunnels flooded, a congested New York City without power.

Father, we know this world is cursed, and that curse includes natural disasters. You sit as sovereign Lord over the universe. Though these tragedies perplex us, we remember that the victims of this disaster were no worse than the rest of us. Things seem to happen so randomly from our perspective.

Lord, you have a master plan that makes sense of these things. We admit to being at a loss. Your ways are higher than our ways, and, in the end, a greater good will come about.

Though perplexed and puzzled, we still trust you as the holy, good and sovereign Lord that you are. We can choose to go through this with you or without you; those are our choices. We choose to experience these events with you at our side. We choose to take your hand.

We pray for the victims of this natural catastrophe. We pray that you would keep them healthy and safe. We pray that you would help them cope with the horrendous losses, the trauma, the pain, the misery of it all. May many be drawn to you through this tragedy.

Please help the relief teams, including the National Guard. Give them wisdom, courage, emotional and physical energy. May their efforts be multiplied and their efficiency increased. Guide the leaders and officials to do what is in the best interest of their people. Prevent looting, and may neighborly concern prevail among the masses. Provide the necessary provisions and the means to get the supplies to match the needs. Help restore this part of our country to a normal state.

We pray in Jesus’ name, amen.

Ed Vasicek

Kokomo


‘Nobody could be

worse’ than Obama


The headline of Wednesday’s Kokomo Tribune reads “Chrysler’s net income up 80 percent.” The following article says third quarter earnings were $381 million.

That is third quarter, not 2012.

So why hasn’t Chrysler paid back the “loan” it got when it was about to go bankrupt? President Obama says the millions were not a “bailout” but a “loan.” Every loan I have ever received (auto or home), I had to pay back ... with interest.

General Motors has not fully paid back its “loan” either. A couple months ago, GM looked like it was going to need another “loan.”

Obama has issued hundreds of “loans” to hundreds of companies that mostly have gone belly-up shortly afterward. Can America even afford Obama another four years? Has Obama followed through with any of his 2008 campaign promises? Nope, they were all hot air, actually more like lies.

It doesn’t matter who replaces him, but if Obama is re-elected, in four more years there will be no United States of America. Nobody, and I mean nobody, could be worse.

Jack Fultz

Logansport

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

  • Keep eye out for kids

    With most local schools welcoming students in a couple of weeks — and Kokomo schools beginning class Aug. 5 (yes, a week from this coming Tuesday) — it’s important for motorists to think about safe driving as children travel to and from school.Law en

    July 23, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 23, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll