Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 4, 2012

Letters to the editor - Monday, Nov. 5, 2012

Vote no to retain

high court’s David

Two Indiana Supreme Court justices are on Tuesday’s ballot for a 10-year term in office. I am voting NO for one of them, Justice Steven David.

In May 2011 he wrote the majority opinion saying Indiana police officers have the right to enter homes without a search warrant, “... that there is no right to reasonably resist unlawful entry by police officers.”

The Fourth Amendment of the U.S. Bill of Rights guards against searches without warrants. Justice David seems to think this constitutionally guaranteed right is out of date. Look for his name on the ballot, and join me in voting NO to have Justice David retained.

Roberta Hite

Kokomo


A prayer for those

hurt by hurricane


Dear God,

We cannot believe the reports we hear from our Eastern states. Hurricane Sandy has struck, and scores of people have died. Entire communities are destroyed, people are stranded. So many homes lost, tunnels flooded, a congested New York City without power.

Father, we know this world is cursed, and that curse includes natural disasters. You sit as sovereign Lord over the universe. Though these tragedies perplex us, we remember that the victims of this disaster were no worse than the rest of us. Things seem to happen so randomly from our perspective.

Lord, you have a master plan that makes sense of these things. We admit to being at a loss. Your ways are higher than our ways, and, in the end, a greater good will come about.

Though perplexed and puzzled, we still trust you as the holy, good and sovereign Lord that you are. We can choose to go through this with you or without you; those are our choices. We choose to experience these events with you at our side. We choose to take your hand.

We pray for the victims of this natural catastrophe. We pray that you would keep them healthy and safe. We pray that you would help them cope with the horrendous losses, the trauma, the pain, the misery of it all. May many be drawn to you through this tragedy.

Please help the relief teams, including the National Guard. Give them wisdom, courage, emotional and physical energy. May their efforts be multiplied and their efficiency increased. Guide the leaders and officials to do what is in the best interest of their people. Prevent looting, and may neighborly concern prevail among the masses. Provide the necessary provisions and the means to get the supplies to match the needs. Help restore this part of our country to a normal state.

We pray in Jesus’ name, amen.

Ed Vasicek

Kokomo


‘Nobody could be

worse’ than Obama


The headline of Wednesday’s Kokomo Tribune reads “Chrysler’s net income up 80 percent.” The following article says third quarter earnings were $381 million.

That is third quarter, not 2012.

So why hasn’t Chrysler paid back the “loan” it got when it was about to go bankrupt? President Obama says the millions were not a “bailout” but a “loan.” Every loan I have ever received (auto or home), I had to pay back ... with interest.

General Motors has not fully paid back its “loan” either. A couple months ago, GM looked like it was going to need another “loan.”

Obama has issued hundreds of “loans” to hundreds of companies that mostly have gone belly-up shortly afterward. Can America even afford Obama another four years? Has Obama followed through with any of his 2008 campaign promises? Nope, they were all hot air, actually more like lies.

It doesn’t matter who replaces him, but if Obama is re-elected, in four more years there will be no United States of America. Nobody, and I mean nobody, could be worse.

Jack Fultz

Logansport

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Chewing over news in bite-size vignettes Today, I am going to share a few "opinionettes" about current news items. Ready? Let's go! City prosperity The unemployment rate in the United States is down to 6.7 percent. This is its lowest level since October 2008. When I remember government effo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll