Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 4, 2012

Letters to the editor - Monday, Nov. 5, 2012

Vote no to retain

high court’s David

Two Indiana Supreme Court justices are on Tuesday’s ballot for a 10-year term in office. I am voting NO for one of them, Justice Steven David.

In May 2011 he wrote the majority opinion saying Indiana police officers have the right to enter homes without a search warrant, “... that there is no right to reasonably resist unlawful entry by police officers.”

The Fourth Amendment of the U.S. Bill of Rights guards against searches without warrants. Justice David seems to think this constitutionally guaranteed right is out of date. Look for his name on the ballot, and join me in voting NO to have Justice David retained.

Roberta Hite

Kokomo


A prayer for those

hurt by hurricane


Dear God,

We cannot believe the reports we hear from our Eastern states. Hurricane Sandy has struck, and scores of people have died. Entire communities are destroyed, people are stranded. So many homes lost, tunnels flooded, a congested New York City without power.

Father, we know this world is cursed, and that curse includes natural disasters. You sit as sovereign Lord over the universe. Though these tragedies perplex us, we remember that the victims of this disaster were no worse than the rest of us. Things seem to happen so randomly from our perspective.

Lord, you have a master plan that makes sense of these things. We admit to being at a loss. Your ways are higher than our ways, and, in the end, a greater good will come about.

Though perplexed and puzzled, we still trust you as the holy, good and sovereign Lord that you are. We can choose to go through this with you or without you; those are our choices. We choose to experience these events with you at our side. We choose to take your hand.

We pray for the victims of this natural catastrophe. We pray that you would keep them healthy and safe. We pray that you would help them cope with the horrendous losses, the trauma, the pain, the misery of it all. May many be drawn to you through this tragedy.

Please help the relief teams, including the National Guard. Give them wisdom, courage, emotional and physical energy. May their efforts be multiplied and their efficiency increased. Guide the leaders and officials to do what is in the best interest of their people. Prevent looting, and may neighborly concern prevail among the masses. Provide the necessary provisions and the means to get the supplies to match the needs. Help restore this part of our country to a normal state.

We pray in Jesus’ name, amen.

Ed Vasicek

Kokomo


‘Nobody could be

worse’ than Obama


The headline of Wednesday’s Kokomo Tribune reads “Chrysler’s net income up 80 percent.” The following article says third quarter earnings were $381 million.

That is third quarter, not 2012.

So why hasn’t Chrysler paid back the “loan” it got when it was about to go bankrupt? President Obama says the millions were not a “bailout” but a “loan.” Every loan I have ever received (auto or home), I had to pay back ... with interest.

General Motors has not fully paid back its “loan” either. A couple months ago, GM looked like it was going to need another “loan.”

Obama has issued hundreds of “loans” to hundreds of companies that mostly have gone belly-up shortly afterward. Can America even afford Obama another four years? Has Obama followed through with any of his 2008 campaign promises? Nope, they were all hot air, actually more like lies.

It doesn’t matter who replaces him, but if Obama is re-elected, in four more years there will be no United States of America. Nobody, and I mean nobody, could be worse.

Jack Fultz

Logansport

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll