Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

April 16, 2013

Scholarship a fine award

— Congratulations to Howard County high school seniors Katie Brown and Ryan Smith on winning a 2013 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship.

Smith, of Taylor High School, plans to attend Indiana Wesleyan University and study biology and pre-med, where the scholarship will cover all tuition expenses and a $900 annual stipend.

He was preparing to search for student loan opportunities and other scholarships when he got word he had been named a Lilly scholar. Indiana Wesleyan costs about $25,000 a year. And with the scholarships he already had received, he needed to pay more than $10,000 a year out-of-pocket.

“This is such a blessing,” Smith said of the Lilly scholarship.

At Taylor, Smith is president of the Key Club, Fellowship of Christian Athletes and the National Honor Society. He was captain of the varsity soccer team and is a member of the Robotics Team, Art Honor Society, Spanish Honor Society and his church youth group.

Volunteerism appears to be a passion of his. He gives his time at a Guatemalan orphanage and the Kokomo Rescue Mission, and participates in a mentor program, vacation Bible school, children’s ministry and is an after-school tutor.

Brown, of Western High School, plans to study for a profession in radiation therapy. She has known too many people who have battled cancer. Her grandfather currently is fighting it. Two of her mother’s friends suffered from the disease; one passed away. And the father of one of her friends died of cancer, as well.

She said the Lilly scholarship will save her more than $40,000 a year in college costs.

Indiana ranks toward the bottom in terms of its percentage of residents over the age of 25 with a bachelor’s degree, and the Lilly endowment set out to change that by awarding at least one scholarship in every county in the state.

The Community Foundation of Howard County Scholarship Committee reviewed 50 applications for the Lilly scholarship this year. Chairman Glenn Grundmann said the panel was impressed with the quality of our local students.

The endowment should be applauded for its efforts. The scholarship program is a fabulous gift to the state of Indiana.

Applaud, also, these two Howard County students on their success, and wish them the very best in their academic pursuits.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll