Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

April 16, 2013

Scholarship a fine award

— Congratulations to Howard County high school seniors Katie Brown and Ryan Smith on winning a 2013 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship.

Smith, of Taylor High School, plans to attend Indiana Wesleyan University and study biology and pre-med, where the scholarship will cover all tuition expenses and a $900 annual stipend.

He was preparing to search for student loan opportunities and other scholarships when he got word he had been named a Lilly scholar. Indiana Wesleyan costs about $25,000 a year. And with the scholarships he already had received, he needed to pay more than $10,000 a year out-of-pocket.

“This is such a blessing,” Smith said of the Lilly scholarship.

At Taylor, Smith is president of the Key Club, Fellowship of Christian Athletes and the National Honor Society. He was captain of the varsity soccer team and is a member of the Robotics Team, Art Honor Society, Spanish Honor Society and his church youth group.

Volunteerism appears to be a passion of his. He gives his time at a Guatemalan orphanage and the Kokomo Rescue Mission, and participates in a mentor program, vacation Bible school, children’s ministry and is an after-school tutor.

Brown, of Western High School, plans to study for a profession in radiation therapy. She has known too many people who have battled cancer. Her grandfather currently is fighting it. Two of her mother’s friends suffered from the disease; one passed away. And the father of one of her friends died of cancer, as well.

She said the Lilly scholarship will save her more than $40,000 a year in college costs.

Indiana ranks toward the bottom in terms of its percentage of residents over the age of 25 with a bachelor’s degree, and the Lilly endowment set out to change that by awarding at least one scholarship in every county in the state.

The Community Foundation of Howard County Scholarship Committee reviewed 50 applications for the Lilly scholarship this year. Chairman Glenn Grundmann said the panel was impressed with the quality of our local students.

The endowment should be applauded for its efforts. The scholarship program is a fabulous gift to the state of Indiana.

Applaud, also, these two Howard County students on their success, and wish them the very best in their academic pursuits.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • ROB BURGESS: You've gotta keep 'em separated In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren't holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I n

    April 23, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll