Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

April 24, 2013

House of Burgess: Read him his rights, already

Boston bombing suspect Dzhokhar Tsarnaev wasn't Mirandized.

— “You have the right to remain silent. Anything you say can and will be used against you in a court of law. You have the right to an attorney. If you cannot afford an attorney, one will be provided for you. Do you understand the rights I have just read to you? With these rights in mind, do you wish to speak to me?”

Those are the words Boston Marathon bombing suspect Dzhokhar Tsarnaev did not hear Friday night when he was taken into custody. Police cited the so-called “public safety exception” to the usually required Miranda warning. The Supreme Court has outlined this allowance as any situation in which the subject potentially has information that is an immediate threat to the community as a whole. I wasn’t previously aware of this asterisk tacked onto the result of the Miranda v. Arizona decision, but it is very real.

“The ‘public safety’ exception to Miranda is a powerful tool with a modern application for law enforcement,” wrote Special Agent Carl A. Benoit in the February 2011 edition of the FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin. “When police officers are confronted by a concern for public safety, Miranda warnings need not be provided prior to asking questions directed at neutralizing an imminent threat, and voluntary statements made in response to such narrowly tailored questions can be admitted at trial.”

I can understand why tensions were running high after an almost unreal week of explosions, murder, chases and lockdowns in the Boston area. Was the public actually in danger even after Tsarnaev was apprehended? I honestly don’t know the answer. But what I do know is that post-9/11, the federal government’s definition of what determines if a subject is a danger to public safety has developed drastically. Since that fateful Tuesday 12 years ago, the suspension of civil rights has been frightening and ever-expanding. (See also: the Patriot Act, domestic drones, increased video surveillance in public places, etc.)

“There seems to be enormous pressure, in and out of government, to treat this suspect like an international terrorist, whether he is one or not,” wrote Andrew Cohen in The Atlantic. “Federal officials want to do so because it’s the post 9/11 narrative for which they have planned. Listening to the breathless media coverage Friday, for the hours upon hours where nothing was happening, one could almost sense from the Beltway consultants and analysts as well a collective willing of this case to morph into an al-Qaida one. What was the basis for the speculation? A few videos on a website. A visit to Chechnya.”

In this particular case, I truly don’t understand why law enforcement would take this non-Mirandizing route. First of all, Mirandizing someone doesn’t really take that long. The version of the warning quoted at the beginning of this column only ran 64 words in all. It’s not like taking a few seconds to read him his rights would hold up the investigation in any meaningful way. The other thing is, he probably already knows his rights, just as most of us do. Tsarnaev is a sophomore at the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth. Any college kid has most certainly, whether by accident or by choice, gotten roped into at least one “Law and Order” marathon on basic cable. Even if he hasn’t, the warning is so ingrained it’s hard to imagine a scenario where someone with even a passing understanding of American popular culture wouldn’t be able to rattle off some version of it. Not reading Tsarnaev his rights may seem like a minor development in a much larger story, but it worries me because I’m not sure where this all ends.

“No matter how unsympathetic accused terrorists are, the precedents the government sets for them matter outside the easy context of questioning them. When the law gets bent out of shape for Dzhokhar Tsarnaev, it’s easier to bend out of shape for the rest of us,” wrote Slate’s Emily Bazelon. “The next time you read about an abusive interrogation, or a wrongful conviction that resulted from a false confession, think about why we have Miranda in the first place. It’s to stop law enforcement authorities from committing abuses. Because when they can make their own rules, sometime, somewhere, they inevitably will.”

Do we as a country believe it is acceptable to hand over civil rights in order to feel safe?

I will now exercise my right to remain silent.

Rob Burgess, Tribune night editor, may be reached by calling 765-454-8577, via email at rob.burgess@kokomotribune.com or on Twitter at twitter.com/robaburg.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll