Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 6, 2014

TERESA LUBBERS: Confronting Indiana's college readiness challenge

K-12, higher ed systems must better collaborate in preparing students.

— For the past few years, the Indiana Commission for Higher Education has produced college readiness reports that show schools and communities how their high school graduates are performing in college. The data is cause for concern: Up to a third of all recent Hoosier high school graduates need remediation when they get to college and the remediation rates are even higher for students who start at community college.

The cost of not being college-ready is significant, both for students and our state. For students, retaking high school-level remedial courses in college dramatically reduces the likelihood they will ever earn a college degree. Fewer than 1 in 4 Indiana college students enrolled in remediation will earn a degree within six years. The cost for the state is significant as well, with the annual cost of remediation estimated to exceed $40 million at Indiana’s community college alone.

Clearly, Indiana must do more to ensure our students graduate with the academic foundation they need to succeed in college and careers. Our K-12 and higher education systems must collaborate more closely to clearly identify what it means to be college-ready, and we must advance early identification and intervention measures that can address students’ academic weaknesses long before they ever set foot on a college campus.

Failing to confront Indiana’s college-readiness challenge isn’t really any alternative at all. Hoosier taxpayers will keep paying (and repaying) the astounding cost for remedial education, and students will continue to contend with their dashed dreams of earning a college degree. While it’s difficult to overstate the importance of academic preparation, there is a growing body of evidence to suggest there’s more to college readiness than academics alone.

Many Indiana college students today are the first in their families to pursue education beyond high school. Often arriving on campus feeling out of place and lacking a clear plan for their education or a future career, students can become discouraged, disillusioned and directionless. Many of these students are also working, commuting to campus and trying to balance their family and job responsibilities while going to school. The result is the vast majority of these students never graduate, and many finish with debt and no degree.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll