Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

February 12, 2014

Celebrating a president

Today is Abraham Lincoln’s 205th birthday. For many historians, Lincoln was the nation’s greatest president. Almost since its birth, the young nation had been wrestling with issues that seemed to explode just as Lincoln took office. He led the U.S. through a bloody civil war, and he has been celebrated for generations as the Great Emancipator.

Lincoln’s life story has been an inspiration to generations of American youth. He was a scrawny young man who grew up in poverty. A man who was raised to understand the value of hard work but who also thirsted for knowledge. Many a child has heard the story of a young Abe Lincoln reading by candlelight after a hard day’s work.

He was a man whose life defined the word “persistence.” Obstacles that would have stopped a lesser man in his tracks did not stop Lincoln. He suffered many a heartbreak, and yet he persevered. He lost more elections than he won, but he never gave up.

And we all know the stories of Lincoln’s honesty and his wisdom.

An assassin’s bullet claimed Lincoln’s life just as the nation was emerging from that terrible war. Who knows what would have happened if he had lived to deal with the many issues the nation was facing?

Would the United States still have made the many mistakes it made during Reconstruction? Would it still have suffered through the tyranny of the Ku Klux Klan and Jim Crow?

Of course, we’ll never know. But we’d like to think that if he had lived, Lincoln might have set us on a better path.

Regardless, we find ourselves thinking today of the many great lessons Lincoln taught us. And we offer gratitude for his persistence and vision.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Scholarship a fine award Congratulations to Howard County high school seniors Joowon Lee and Graham Ortmann on winning a 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Lee, of Western High School, plans to attend Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis to study biolog

    April 24, 2014

  • STATE SEN. JIM BUCK: Changes pave way to a brighter future In recent legislative sessions, Indiana has enacted substantial policy reforms that resulted in greater economic freedom and stronger economic growth. Economic growth has real implications for Hoosier families: jobs for those unemployed; promotions f

    April 24, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: U.S. networks struggle to cover economic news Network television newsrooms often must cover stories for which they have no internal experts. That's why aeronautic engineers and pilots are put on the air to analyze airplane emergencies. Judges and lawyers are paraded out to discuss whatever sensa

    April 24, 2014

  • LETTER: Tipton commissioner keeps agency matters secret Commissioner keeps panel matters secret An April 14 letter exposed the truth about a politician's actions vs. what he writes or says. The minutes from an Alliance Board governmental meeting indicated Phil Heron voted no for a request to allow public

    April 24, 2014

  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll