Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 13, 2014

Half-baked to full-bore

The game on trimesters at Purdue University has changed considerably in recent weeks, with President Mitch Daniels going from calling the idea half-baked to going full-bore a year later.

Faculty and administrators have been asked to vet the concept — moving Purdue from two semesters to three to maximize campus facilities year-round — and determine whether it’s possible to roll it out by fall 2015.

In campus calendar-speak, that’s blazing speed.

Daniels’ pattern on trimesters has been a bit of a zigzag since former President France Córdova proposed the idea in 2012. As governor, Daniels was gung-ho with a plan that looked to fill the campus in the summer and find new ways to accelerate students toward a degree. Then, he got to campus as president and realized that what he had was more of a concept than an actual plan. Heaped onto that was the skepticism of faculty members who had all sorts of questions about teaching assignments, contracts, abandoning traditional academic schedules and whether students would buy into year-round school.

Not surprisingly, Daniels seems to have reconciled those matters for himself and sounds ready to get moving toward a balanced calendar that eventually could morph into true trimesters. That includes working on buy-in from faculty leaders who have been asked to research the administration’s plan before professors weigh in. (The faculty-dominated University Senate has much of the control here because it sets the academic calendar.)

The economics of the trimester, starting with trying to make good use of empty facilities for three months out of the year, plays just as well under Daniels as it did under Córdova.

The obstacles, beyond faculty reluctance, are evident, including the comfort level of possibly putting a larger number of 20-year-olds into the job market. Granted, just because year-round classes are available doesn’t mean students will go year-round and get degrees in three years. That likely won’t be the goal, either. But there’s a reason a four-year college schedule has endured; if not the same as fine wine, students are at least a high-end soup that needs time to simmer before it’s ready to serve.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll