Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 13, 2014

Half-baked to full-bore

The game on trimesters at Purdue University has changed considerably in recent weeks, with President Mitch Daniels going from calling the idea half-baked to going full-bore a year later.

Faculty and administrators have been asked to vet the concept — moving Purdue from two semesters to three to maximize campus facilities year-round — and determine whether it’s possible to roll it out by fall 2015.

In campus calendar-speak, that’s blazing speed.

Daniels’ pattern on trimesters has been a bit of a zigzag since former President France Córdova proposed the idea in 2012. As governor, Daniels was gung-ho with a plan that looked to fill the campus in the summer and find new ways to accelerate students toward a degree. Then, he got to campus as president and realized that what he had was more of a concept than an actual plan. Heaped onto that was the skepticism of faculty members who had all sorts of questions about teaching assignments, contracts, abandoning traditional academic schedules and whether students would buy into year-round school.

Not surprisingly, Daniels seems to have reconciled those matters for himself and sounds ready to get moving toward a balanced calendar that eventually could morph into true trimesters. That includes working on buy-in from faculty leaders who have been asked to research the administration’s plan before professors weigh in. (The faculty-dominated University Senate has much of the control here because it sets the academic calendar.)

The economics of the trimester, starting with trying to make good use of empty facilities for three months out of the year, plays just as well under Daniels as it did under Córdova.

The obstacles, beyond faculty reluctance, are evident, including the comfort level of possibly putting a larger number of 20-year-olds into the job market. Granted, just because year-round classes are available doesn’t mean students will go year-round and get degrees in three years. That likely won’t be the goal, either. But there’s a reason a four-year college schedule has endured; if not the same as fine wine, students are at least a high-end soup that needs time to simmer before it’s ready to serve.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll