Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 13, 2014

DEREK THOMAS: Protect Hoosier jobs with bipartisan solution

Pence voted for work-sharing act in 2012

Hoosiers may be sur-prised to learn that in 2012, the 112th Congress agreed on at least one thing: The Middle Class Tax Relief and Job Creation Act of 2012, which included provisions to expand work-sharing policies in the U.S. This provision saved a whopping half-million jobs during the recession — with fewer than half of all states utilizing it during that time period.

Indiana’s delegates supporting the act included: Sen. Richard Lugar and Reps. Stutzman, Donnelly, Carson, Buschon, Young and now-Gov. Mike Pence. Since the act’s passage, work-sharing policies have been adopted and supported by Republican and Democratic governors (including those in Michigan and Ohio), business and labor, and conservative and progressive economists.

Now used in more than half of U.S. states, work-sharing provides employers with the option of temporarily reducing the hours and wages of all employees instead of laying off all workers.

Hoosiers may also be surprised broad bipartisan support exists in Indiana as well. Here’s why:

For workers, the program acts as the front line defense against joblessness. Workers would earn higher wages than they would under traditional unemployment, and they would retain health and retirement benefits. According to the most recent Congressional Budget Office report, “effects of the stigma and erosion of skills [for the long-term unemployed], accounted for half of a percentage point of the [current] unemployment rate, but [those effects] are not expected to begin to dissipate until after 2017.” By the way, the effects of long-term unemployment on structural factors related to the current unemployment rate are five times the effect of unemployment insurance benefit extensions, accounting for just 0.1 percent of the current rate.

For business, work-sharing offers flexibility during economic downturns. Providing a tool for business to retain a skilled workforce is why Gov. Snyder supported recent legislation in Michigan — a smart move for states interested in closing skills gaps. From the CBO report: “difficulties in matching workers and available jobs” accounted for half a percentage point of the current unemployment rate.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll