Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 20, 2014

MARK BENNETT: Healing Indiana's Achilles' heel

House bill authorizes study to assess metros' needs.

Illinois served as the easy target.

At that moment.

In another circumstance, it could be Indiana getting zinged.

In an interview after delivering the keynote address at the Terre Haute Groundhog Day Economic Forecast, Indiana Secretary of Commerce Victor Smith labeled neighboring Illinois “one of the worst states in the country for doing business and getting worse.” Smith cited Illinois’ fiscally beleaguered state government and its increased taxes as the basis for his blunt assessment. An economic-development counterpart in Illinois responded by not only listing some advantages present in the Land of Lincoln, but also acknowledging his state’s problems and detailing progress to address those issues. He added a reminder that Illinois possesses a much larger economy than Indiana and “so many more Fortune 500 companies.”

Not quite Richard Sherman and Michael Crabtree in trash-talking terms, but this is economics, not the NFL.

The exchange conjured reminders of Ohio Gov. John Kasich’s occasional digs at Indiana. In a 2012 New York Times interview, Kasich boasted about the Buckeye State’s competitive pluses, saying, “We have a lot of great cities. I mean, if you think of Indiana, you’ve got Indianapolis and then what?” Throwing up his hands, he added, “Terre Haute?”

In both scenarios, the jabs pointed out legitimate vulnerabilities. Illinois has begun the difficult work to fix its governmental messes, which Smith pinpointed, but what is the state of Indiana doing to make its cities more attractive to outsiders who are looking for a vacation spot or a new place to live? Not enough. That’s the Achilles’ heel Kasich targeted. His western neighbor has leaned on its low-tax, lean-government reputation, which has its corporate appeal, but the benefits haven’t trickled down to the aging hearts of most Indiana cities.

Smith, in his Terre Haute visit, gave a tantalizing description of a step in the right direction.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll