Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 28, 2014

KAREN ALTERGOTT ROBERTS: Making life in Kokomo better for those in need

Help Family Service Association help others.

(Continued)

The problems of homeless people may also seem overwhelming. Addictions, untreated health or mental health issues may have devastated some adults’ abilities to keep themselves sheltered and warm in the storm of life. This can overwhelm the individual, and overwhelm the community helpers. Where can we start to meet the crisis of homelessness? Family Service Association has started putting help into action with an apartment building for homeless, disabled veterans. This “housing first model” of supportive housing is funded in part by government grants, loans to the agency and donations for furniture and items to equip each apartment. When the community realized we needed help, many individuals and organizations stepped up with donations.

FSA also helps children in many ways. Our programs, Healthy Families, Community Partners, and Nurture, help parents learn and do better for their young children. Last year, more than 300 young families received in-home services to help them parent their children to the best of their abilities. Prevent Child Abuse raises awareness and funds for protection of children. Gear Up and First Candle help parents keep their children safe.

These are just three of the underlying community needs that are addressed by Family Service Association. There are many other parts to Family Service Association — homemaking, attendant care, minority health, other health issues, counseling. Our work is often unseen. Work is done by trained and certified professionals. Community members who offer financial support to Family Service Association are doing something important for the flood of suffering children, the tornado of domestic violence and the blizzard of homelessness in our area. We are a nonprofit. We rely on the monetary support of many to continue to serve children, parents, families, veterans. If you care about these challenges, will you help us?

Donate to your favorite program at Family Service Association of Howard County Inc. You can go online at fsahc.org or call 765-457-9313 to learn more about how to help. Be part of the groundswell of community effort to make life in Kokomo better for all.

Karen Altergott Roberts, Ph.D., M.Div., is assistant executive director of Family Service Association of Howard County Inc. Contact her at revaltergott@gmail.com.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll