Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 2, 2014

MICHAEL HICKS: Assortive mating and income

Education plays a larger role in choice of marriage partner.

It is fair to conclude this double trilogy on income inequality with a brief review of some of the new research on the future of social mobility. I warn you, gentle reader, this topic might be unnerving.

A century ago, most Americans married young. Their associations were local and marriages tended to be of people who were alike in race, religion, culture and geography. This necessarily smaller pool of eligible mates (or marriage market in unromantic economic jargon) meant other factors such as intelligence and education played a smaller role than race and religion in choosing a partner.

Among the great achievements of this republic was that in the decades following World War II, we began to marry with less regard for race, religion and culture. We married later in life and with far fewer geographic restrictions.

One result of this is the marriage market shifted from small towns to colleges and workplaces. So, educational attainment, not race and religion, became a more important factor. It is happily unremarkable to see mixed race families, or marriages between Methodist and Catholic that were difficult even a half century ago and nearly impossible a century ago. Yet, it is unusual to see college grads and high school dropouts marry each other.

Here is where I get a bit unsettled. You see, this research comes to economics from sociology, anthropology and evolutionary biology. Their interest is in the social and biological changes wrought by these changes to mating patterns. For, you see, factors such as race and religion are uncorrelated with intelligence. Not so with educational attainment. So, if humans are now more likely to mate with people who are more like them in intelligence, there are evolutionary implications that matter greatly to income mobility.

There are several important studies floating around today that address this issue. From what I can tell, they all come to the same broad conclusion. Changes to assortive mating may, within a few generations, make evolutionary changes to intelligence in our society, splitting the bell curve of smarts into two separate populations.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • CHEERS & JEERS: 'What serving in joy means' ‘A rich Kokomo tradition’Robert W. Parks of Kokomo sends this Cheer for all involved in the “Moose” Carden Fishing Clinic:“Augusta, Georgia, has The Masters; Louisville, Kentucky, has the Kentucky Derby; Anchorage, Alaska, has the Iditarod. And Kokom

    August 2, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Don't ever give up hope As the wind blows, the air refreshes itself. As the sky opens up to the looker, the looker finds happiness in seeing the clouds go by. And as nighttime creeps forward, the eyes seek rest.Such is the way our days are spent, looking for that little ray

    August 2, 2014

  • 'Reads' panel narrows titles Howard County Reads, a program introduced in 2004 to cultivate a love of reading and promote a sense of community, is another step closer to selecting a book for its 10th anniversary.In February, county residents began nominating a favorite for consi

    August 1, 2014

  • LETTERS: Concert Series 'beautiful musical experience' Store employees should split prizeSeveral weeks ago, a winning lottery ticket was purchased at one of our larger grocery stores. What I’d like to know is why the upper-management get a large cash prize (which they don’t need) while the employees of t

    August 1, 2014

  • Work program requires buy-in from industry Good help is hard to find.That’s essentially what Indiana companies have insisted for several years. The state struggles with a “skills gap,” the firms explain. They need employees, but can’t find enough — or in some cases, any — qualified Hoosiers.

    August 1, 2014

  • Take a walk to school At the risk of sounding like “old fogies,” we remember walking to school when we were kids.Back in the day, that’s how it was. If it was within walking distance, you were walking to school.Today, like much else, it’s a very different picture. The vas

    July 31, 2014

  • DAN COATS: New Harmony marks its 200th anniversary Situated between St. Louis and Louisville, New Harmony is a small town in southwest Indiana smaller than 1 square mile in area. Fewer than 1,000 Hoosiers call this serene Posey County community home.Despite its size, the town has monumental significa

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTERS: Marriage culture in area must change Marriage culture in area must change Last week's article on the Annie E. Casey Foundation and the Kids Count report caught my eye. While I'm happy that Indiana is improving in the educational domain, the poverty statistics are saddening. I was just s

    July 31, 2014

  • A lookat IU salaries Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 31, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll