Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

October 11, 2012

Letter to the Editor: Oct. 11, 2012

Attention, liberals: Big Bird among 1%

One might think that it has something to do with Halloween, as folks dressed in Big Bird costumes show up at Mitt Romney campaign stops. They are not there to trick-or-treat, though. These folks are expressing their opposition to Mr. Romney’s remarks about reducing taxpayer funding to PBS. So costumed characters are showing up with accusations that Mitt Romney is out to kill Big Bird. Seriously?

First, recognize that recommendations to reduce funding to the Corporation for Public Broadcasting are included in proposals from the Obama administration’s Simpson-Bowles deficit reduction commission. Why then has Big Bird not been making appearances at Mr. Obama’s campaign stops?

Second, PBS affiliates have become increasingly corporatized. In spite of receiving multiples of millions of dollars from foundations, such as the George Soros Open Society Institution, and support from “viewers like you,” they still demand the siphoning of taxpayer revenues.

Third, in the three years from 2003 to 2006, “Sesame Street” received more than $200 million from toy and consumer product revenues. According to the not-for-profit 990 tax form, Sesame Street Workshop president and CEO Gary Knell received $956,513 in compensation in 2008. Know any not-for-profits in any of our fair towns paying hundreds of thousands of dollars out in compensation? And continuing to demand taxpayer funding to boot?

Folks can show up dressed in Big Bird costumes if they want; it is near Halloween, after all. But perhaps they should pause and consider this: Trick-or-treat! Big Bird is a 1-percenter!

Charles A. Layne, Bunker Hill

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll