Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 12, 2012

Cheers & Jeers - Thursday, Oct. 13, 2012

‘Dining with Purpose’

Charleszetta Lewis, director of Loving Hands Adult Day Services, sends this Cheer:

“Loving Hands Adult Day Care Inc. wishes to thank the following sponsors for their support of our second annual ‘Dining with Purpose’ Pastarrific/Silent Auction fundraiser Sept. 15:

“Ivy Tech (marketing sponsor), Hemelt Neurology (table sponsor), Mick Owens (table sponsor), The Kokomo Herald (marketing sponsor), and Rex Gingerich & family (donation sponsor).

“We thank the following businesses and persons for their donated items: Meijer, Sunspot, McDonald’s, Auto Zone, Wal-Mart, Family Video, Texas Roadhouse, Four Winds Casino, Mike’s Car Wash, Marsh Designing Lines, Club Fitness, Burger King, Olive Garden, Kroger, Button Motors, Carlos Burmudez, Rising Star Casino, Master Creations, Lucas Furniture, Rally’s, Soupley’s, McGonigal’s, Whiskey Creek, Ruby Tuesday, Marriott Hotel, Esther’s Boutique, Bear Creek Farms, Thomas Meriwether, IHoP, Starbucks, Rite Quality, Patti Host, Pizza Hut, Pet Supplies Plus, Malibu Tanning Salon, Indianapolis Colts, Outback Steakhouse, Hardee’s, Lowe’s, Rural King, Half Moon, Coca-Cola, Sherry Shelton, Grindstone Charley’s, Mid Central Trophy, Flowers By Ivan & Rick, McAllister’s, Pat Luttrell, Bob Evans, Country Catfish, Indiana University, Robert Miller & Son Furniture, Cloyd, Rondy, & Dennis Patterson, Jerry Dye w/Tastefully Simple, Jewelry by Jackie, Merle Norman Cosmetics, Z92FIVE, Cynthia Hendricks and the Pastarrific Restaurant.

“We also send out an additional thank-you to Shiela Smith, Tillie Stickely, and Linda Butchart who each assisted in so many ways with preparation of the event! Lastly, we appreciate so much those who came out to support the event.”

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll