Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 23, 2012

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 23, 2012

Kokomo — Feds must de-fund Planned Parenthood

I am wondering why the Kokomo Tribune decided to print such an important article and hide it down in the NEWS OF THE WEIRD!

“A better reason to de-fund Planned Parenthood: The organization has survived a controversial de-funding campaign over its limited [LIMITED?] abortion program, but its Washington state chapter, Planned Parenthood of the Great Northwest, began a quixotic safe-sex campaign in February in which thousands of condoms were distributed with scannable bar-codes. The plan was that users would automatically register information about their locations during sex, and, if the users chose, other information about the particular sexual experience they just had ...”

And this is what OUR tax dollars and money borrowed from China are going for? No wonder we have such a huge deficit!

The U.S. government definitely needs to de-fund Planned Parenthood!

Pat Duchane, Kokomo

 

‘Audacity of Deceit’ unveils secret agenda

I just started a rather chilling book. You will soon learn just how chilling, should you choose to read it too.

The book, penned by Brad O’Leary, president of ATI-News.com, is a warts-and-all look at Barack H. Obama, and from what I have read thus far, there is no shortage of warts.

The book titled “The Audacity of Deceit” paints a rather unflattering portrait of our current president.

Mr. O’Leary, in the dust-jacket notes, states the following points of Mr. Obama’s agenda:

(1) Blocked emergency-related aid for babies who survived abortion.

(2) Plans to ban the use of firearms by law-abiding citizens for self-defense.

(3) Would raise tax rates to a Hoover-like 60 percent.

(4) Will transform the U.S. Treasury into the United Nations’ ATM.

(5) Wants fuel prices high and farmland taken out of production.

These five points I’ve cited are just the tip of the iceberg; the story runs deeper and should be sufficient cause for a closer look at Mr. Obama and his record. For additional information, visit

www.audacityofdeceit.com.

Since Election Day is Nov. 6, the time to arm oneself with the facts is NOW.

Kenneth Crockett, Kokomo

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Scholarship a fine award Congratulations to Howard County high school seniors Joowon Lee and Graham Ortmann on winning a 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Lee, of Western High School, plans to attend Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis to study biolog

    April 24, 2014

  • STATE SEN. JIM BUCK: Changes pave way to a brighter future In recent legislative sessions, Indiana has enacted substantial policy reforms that resulted in greater economic freedom and stronger economic growth. Economic growth has real implications for Hoosier families: jobs for those unemployed; promotions f

    April 24, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: U.S. networks struggle to cover economic news Network television newsrooms often must cover stories for which they have no internal experts. That's why aeronautic engineers and pilots are put on the air to analyze airplane emergencies. Judges and lawyers are paraded out to discuss whatever sensa

    April 24, 2014

  • LETTER: Tipton commissioner keeps agency matters secret Commissioner keeps panel matters secret An April 14 letter exposed the truth about a politician's actions vs. what he writes or says. The minutes from an Alliance Board governmental meeting indicated Phil Heron voted no for a request to allow public

    April 24, 2014

  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll