Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 19, 2013

House of Burgess: Rodman visit puzzles Koreans

Apparently, they’re just as confused as we are.

Like several of my readers, I had additional questions after I filed last week’s column, “Mr. Rodman goes to Pyongyang.” If you’ll remember, during his recent overseas trip with Vice Media, former basketball star Dennis Rodman became possibly the only American to ever meet North Korean Supreme Leader Kim Jong-un face-to-face. If I was baffled, I wondered what residents of the Korean Peninsula must be thinking.

Luckily, I have a primary source at my disposal. For the last six years, my friend and college roommate, Jonathan, has lived and worked in South Korea, educating the youth there in the ways of the English language. To get a better understanding of the situation on the ground, I asked Jonathan to conduct a man-on-the-street interview for me. Before he did, he told me there might be complications.

“I don’t think most Koreans know enough about who Rodman is or how crazy all the stuff he has done before was,” he told me. “Unfortunately, the meeting has now been further complicated by Kim Jong-un’s threats to turn Washington and Seoul in Sea(s) of Fire since the U.N. sanctions are going forward in response to their third nuclear test.”

A few days later, I received a string of messages from Jonathan. It seems in the meantime, he had interviewed Mr. Sang-Yoon Cho (“James”), 42, a resident of Gunpo, a city in Gyeonggi Province, located about an hour south of Seoul.

“At first, when I heard that story on television, I was so surprised. [I remembered America’s] ping-pong [diplomacy] with China, so at first I thought it might be like that [but with basketball.] If Rodman really decided to visit North Korea by himself, it is ridiculous,” said James. “In my case, [if I want to go up there], I have to get permission from the [South Korean] government. If I [went] up there [without permission], when I came back I [would] have to go to jail.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll