Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

December 13, 2013

DEBRA MINOTT: Healthy Indiana Plan works for Hoosiers

Healthy Indiana Plan is working for Hoosiers.

This summer, I was pleased to work with Gov. Pence on an agreement with the Obama adminis-tration that allows us to continue to offer the innovative, consumer-driven Healthy Indiana Plan (HIP) through 2014. In fact, because of this agreement, 20,000 more low-income Hoosiers will have health coverage in 2014. Unfortunately, this element of the story has been misconstrued or ignored in recent coverage by the Indianapolis Star.

The extension agreement was the result of a strategic and thoughtful effort by the Pence administration to make sure more Hoosiers had a coverage option on Jan. 1, 2014. We continue to engage the federal government in hopes of expanding coverage to even more Hoosiers through HIP.

The Pence administration wants to reduce the number of uninsured in Indiana. The federal government shares this goal, and during negotiations about the extension of the Healthy Indiana Plan, they suggested that, starting in 2014, HIP focus exclusively on those Hoosiers who are under the federal poverty level. These individuals are not eligible for premium tax credits under the Affordable Care Act. The federal government’s position was that those over the federal poverty line could be covered under new subsidized federal policies through Obamacare.

As has been widely reported, the federal exchange has been fraught with operational issues. Consequently, we anticipated that many of the transitioning HIP members would find it difficult to obtain coverage from the federal government. The first week of November we asked the federal government for a temporary extension of the Healthy Indiana Plan for those members who are still trying to secure coverage on the federal marketplace. We will continue to reach out to the HIP members to assist them in making the transition.

As we work with these HIP members, something interesting has happened. Many of them have told us they want to stay on HIP. The media have panned the state for kicking these Hoosiers off the Healthy Indiana Plan in favor of Obamacare. These sentiments bolster the state’s long-held position on the value of HIP. We appreciate that so many people agree with us that HIP is a better choice. It is a good alternative to Obamacare.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll