Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

December 21, 2013

RAY DAY: The start and the finish

It was July 1, 1937, in a house on North Purdum Street, and the ones in the home were waiting for the cries of a newborn baby in the family.

Those in the house were members of the Day family, and two brothers were sitting in the next room while their mother was giving birth to another child, who would be loved by the mother and father till the end of time. The father waited until he was called in to help with the delivery.

In this family, brothers and sisters got their call Home early. Brothers Ernest and Robert were the only ones left to greet this new child into the family. Suddenly, there was a cry from the bedroom, and the father came out and said, “It’s a boy.”

That new born child was me, Raymond, and I started my time here on earth with a family who loved each other and would until they made the journey Home. Margaret Lois, Betty Lou, Christine Maxine, Everett and Walter Clyde had spent a little time in the family before passing on, and only Ernie and Bob were there to greet me on my first day on earth. Later on, our mother gave birth to six more babies: Deloris, Mary, Neva, Wanda, Russell and John.

God sent all these new gifts to our mother and father, Roscoe and Lucille Day. As the five who passed on before my birth, three more have gotten their call Home; only two girls and two boys remain. God had given many gifts to our family, and he reserved the right to recall them when it was time to leave here and go Home.

Our brothers and sisters all had their own families to care for, and as time goes on so does the sending of new souls to those families to love and to cherish. In my own family, Ramona and I had two daughters, Deborah Loretta and Patricia Ann. Debby is still with us, but Patty was called Home at the age of 34; she had two children, Amanda and Matthew who, once grown up, were given gifts from God that were Evan and Audrey, born to Amanda and Mark, and Braylen, born to Matt and Asby.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll