Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

December 20, 2013

MICHAEL HICKS: Economic development studies and tax abatement

Studies of state, local economic efforts yield surprises.

Studies of state, local economic efforts yield surprises.

Over the past few weeks, the research center in which I work published three different studies evaluating the role of economic development programs in Indiana. The results of our work held some surprises and some not so surprising findings.

The first study evaluated the Indiana Economic Development Corp.’s suite of services. We made a number of small recommendations, suggesting, for example, that IEDC improve some website offerings, but it is clear IEDC is offering among the most up to date economic development activities. Moreover, the National Governor’s Association recently commissioned a study that strongly recommended other states adopt the type of public-private partnership in state economic development efforts that are in use here in Indiana. IEDC employs roughly 65 people, while several surrounding states had more than 400 workers. So, I would expect a lot more states embracing our model.

Among the more interesting findings were IEDC had significantly grown the number of employers it works with since shifting to the public-private model. In 2004, IEDC was working with employers of roughly 1 out of every 50 new jobs that came to Indiana. By 2010 that share had grown to more than 1 out of 25. We also found the new employers IEDC works with are more evenly distributed across the state than are new jobs as a whole. Still, most new jobs in Indiana never connect with the economic development apparatus at the local, regional or state level, which means economic development efforts alone won’t create prosperity.

The second study examined tax incentives in Indiana, at the state and local level. It is worth noting that to ask me and my colleague, Dagney Faulk, to study the issue required a great deal of political courage by IEDC. Both of us have studied and testified on tax incentives in a number of states, and some of my work helped aid the demise of Michigan’s largest incentive program in 2012.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll