Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

December 28, 2013

MIKE KARICKHOFF: One of best dispatch services in state

Combined 911 more efficient, fiscally sound.

We constantly hear stories of how federal, state, county, city and local governments have difficulty working together, compete and fight amongst themselves for their sole benefit — not thinking of the people they serve. That may be common in Washington, D.C., but I am glad to say that Kokomo and Howard County do not always operate that way.

In 2013, Howard County and the city of Kokomo were able to complete the final step of the emergency dispatch merger decades in the making. Over the past five decades, the city and county worked together to consolidate the location, funding and operation of Public Safety Answering Points (PSAPs), making emergency dispatching much more efficient and fiscally sound.

When radio dispatch started in Kokomo, it was handled by uniformed police and fireman who worked from their respective headquarters, issuing instructions to their colleagues. City and county dispatch operations and funding were handled separately, even though they served many of the same people.

This initial system, while advanced at the time, proved to be inefficient in the long run, lacking modern equipment operated by specialized dispatchers and leading to a need for change. The process involved multiple sheriffs, mayors, and city and county councils who were willing to figure out the best way to serve our community.

Uniformed police and fire dispatchers transitioned to civilians; operation headquarters merged and moved to the jail; compatible equipment was purchased to seamlessly work together; city employees became county employees, Kokomo willingly transferred its levy to the county, demonstrating mutual trust, compromise and confidence.

The consolidated Howard County 911 dispatch service now utilizes the most updated technology available, making it one of the most comprehensive 911 dispatch services in the state.

This process took a long time and a lot of work, but in the end the taxpayers came out winners. Everyone is equitably paying for 911 services and no one is taxed twice. We have a state-of-the-art, modern system that is a prime example of technology being used to save taxpayers money. This model of cooperation between city and county is one that our D.C. leaders should replicate in putting differences aside to better serve the people.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll