Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

December 29, 2013

ED VASICEK: Is America moving toward police state?

Evidence seems to point in that direction

Freedom is a double-edge sword. All perspectives have a voice, meaning we respect the rights of dissenting views. This freedom is being lost in America, not through a dictatorial regime, a politburo, Muslim extremists or a Third Reich. It is being lost through political correctness and fear of litigation.

Americans may no longer speak their minds without consequence; we are becoming afraid to even think unpopular thoughts. No, this is not a rerun from “The Twilight Zone.” It is an era we are entering.

Take Phil Robertson of “Duck Dynasty,” a man who believes what most Americans have believed since our nation was founded: that the practice of homosexuality is immoral. Back in the early 1970s, homosexuality was considered a mental illness. Nowadays, refusing to endorse homosexuality is considered a mental illness. But doesn’t Phil have a right to express his opinion? By participating in an A&E program, has he lost his right to express his views without repercussion?

If A&E were a religious organization promoting the gay lifestyle, then it would be understandable to fire a man who was working against the purpose of the organization. If the network is about arts and entertainment, what difference does it make if its stars are conservative or liberal? Is it taboo to be a Christian and believe what Christians (and Jews) have generally believed for centuries? Does A&E own the souls of those with whom it contracts?

We witnessed something similar with the Food Network and Paula Deen. If Paula were an active racist and disrupting the other stars, releasing her would be necessary. But to admit she had been a racist — but has since seen the light — should be seen as a movement toward racial harmony. No one is as zealous for a cause as one won from the other side.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • CHEERS & JEERS: 'What serving in joy means' ‘A rich Kokomo tradition’Robert W. Parks of Kokomo sends this Cheer for all involved in the “Moose” Carden Fishing Clinic:“Augusta, Georgia, has The Masters; Louisville, Kentucky, has the Kentucky Derby; Anchorage, Alaska, has the Iditarod. And Kokom

    August 2, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Don't ever give up hope As the wind blows, the air refreshes itself. As the sky opens up to the looker, the looker finds happiness in seeing the clouds go by. And as nighttime creeps forward, the eyes seek rest.Such is the way our days are spent, looking for that little ray

    August 2, 2014

  • 'Reads' panel narrows titles Howard County Reads, a program introduced in 2004 to cultivate a love of reading and promote a sense of community, is another step closer to selecting a book for its 10th anniversary.In February, county residents began nominating a favorite for consi

    August 1, 2014

  • LETTERS: Concert Series 'beautiful musical experience' Store employees should split prizeSeveral weeks ago, a winning lottery ticket was purchased at one of our larger grocery stores. What I’d like to know is why the upper-management get a large cash prize (which they don’t need) while the employees of t

    August 1, 2014

  • Work program requires buy-in from industry Good help is hard to find.That’s essentially what Indiana companies have insisted for several years. The state struggles with a “skills gap,” the firms explain. They need employees, but can’t find enough — or in some cases, any — qualified Hoosiers.

    August 1, 2014

  • Take a walk to school At the risk of sounding like “old fogies,” we remember walking to school when we were kids.Back in the day, that’s how it was. If it was within walking distance, you were walking to school.Today, like much else, it’s a very different picture. The vas

    July 31, 2014

  • DAN COATS: New Harmony marks its 200th anniversary Situated between St. Louis and Louisville, New Harmony is a small town in southwest Indiana smaller than 1 square mile in area. Fewer than 1,000 Hoosiers call this serene Posey County community home.Despite its size, the town has monumental significa

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTERS: Marriage culture in area must change Marriage culture in area must change Last week's article on the Annie E. Casey Foundation and the Kids Count report caught my eye. While I'm happy that Indiana is improving in the educational domain, the poverty statistics are saddening. I was just s

    July 31, 2014

  • A lookat IU salaries Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 31, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll