Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 17, 2013

Cheers & Jeers: Aug. 17, 2013

Allergic reaction brings out best in staff

Emily Shrock, RN, mother of Cory Shrock sends a Cheer to all those who helped her son through a tough day:

“On Aug. 6, my son, Cory, was at football practice at Kokomo High School and suffered a severe anaphylactic reaction due to an accidental cross contamination of peanuts prior to practice. The peanut allergy is the deadliest allergy and the symptoms progress quickly to respiratory failure and death.

Cory was in the team room and felt like his lips were swelling. He said he could hardly breathe. He approached three coaches: Coach Austin Colby, Coach Wells and Coach Miller. The coaches immediately recognized that Cory was in trouble.  Coach Colby quickly got him to the trainer, Lisa Tate.

Lisa called me within seconds. Fortunately, I live nearby and was off work that day. I grabbed my Epi-Pen and Benadryl and met Lisa at the locker room. Lisa had done an outstanding job keeping Cory calm.  He was bright red head to toe, hives popping up second by second. I quickly gave him Benadryl and loaded him in the car.

I took him to Community Howard Regional. He was given oxygen and steroids and fortunately was almost back to normal in about an hour. The ER doctor, Dr. Lai, and the staff, especially Ben See, RN were outstanding.

My sincere gratitude to all involved. After we left the ER, I updated Lisa Tate and gave her much credit for her actions.  She assured me that it was really the coaches that deserved the appreciation. The key to this success was good team work, but it was that initial response of some coaches that helped Cory avoid a critical outcome and made all the difference.

 

Free Back-To-School haircut a success

Dennis Morgan, Executive Director of the Carver Community Center sends this Cheer to those who mad the free Back-To-School haircut event possible:

“On behalf of the Board of Directors and staff of the Carver Community Center I want to extend the greatest level of appreciation that we can offer for the support for the free Back-To-School haircuts. This thank you is to acknowledge and extend a community thank you to the seven barbers who unselfishly gave of their own time to provide 87 young men free haircuts Aug. 5. The boys were not only treated to free haircuts but the entire family was treated to free pizza, soda, toothpaste and tooth brushes. A special recognition goes to Shawn Clark for his vision to expand the program to provide the pizzas donated by PaPa Johns, Pizza Hut and Mike’s Pizza. A thank you to Walmart and Sam’s Club for the gift cards to purchase the tooth paste and sodas and Dr. James Lindsey for the donation of tooth brushes. A special thank you goes to Josh Butler for organizing the event with the barbers and getting the donation of book bags from Caravan Facilities Management.

“This would not have been possible if was not for the following talented barbers: Josh Butler & James Warren from Cut Above Barber Shop. Joyce Coleman, Michael Cannon and Malik Anderson from MC’s Barber Shop; Quentin Freeman from Hair Affair Barber Shop; and Lentez Ellis from Mo Heads Barber Shop Indy.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll