Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 17, 2013

Cheers & Jeers: Aug. 17, 2013

Allergic reaction brings out best in staff

Emily Shrock, RN, mother of Cory Shrock sends a Cheer to all those who helped her son through a tough day:

“On Aug. 6, my son, Cory, was at football practice at Kokomo High School and suffered a severe anaphylactic reaction due to an accidental cross contamination of peanuts prior to practice. The peanut allergy is the deadliest allergy and the symptoms progress quickly to respiratory failure and death.

Cory was in the team room and felt like his lips were swelling. He said he could hardly breathe. He approached three coaches: Coach Austin Colby, Coach Wells and Coach Miller. The coaches immediately recognized that Cory was in trouble.  Coach Colby quickly got him to the trainer, Lisa Tate.

Lisa called me within seconds. Fortunately, I live nearby and was off work that day. I grabbed my Epi-Pen and Benadryl and met Lisa at the locker room. Lisa had done an outstanding job keeping Cory calm.  He was bright red head to toe, hives popping up second by second. I quickly gave him Benadryl and loaded him in the car.

I took him to Community Howard Regional. He was given oxygen and steroids and fortunately was almost back to normal in about an hour. The ER doctor, Dr. Lai, and the staff, especially Ben See, RN were outstanding.

My sincere gratitude to all involved. After we left the ER, I updated Lisa Tate and gave her much credit for her actions.  She assured me that it was really the coaches that deserved the appreciation. The key to this success was good team work, but it was that initial response of some coaches that helped Cory avoid a critical outcome and made all the difference.

 

Free Back-To-School haircut a success

Dennis Morgan, Executive Director of the Carver Community Center sends this Cheer to those who mad the free Back-To-School haircut event possible:

“On behalf of the Board of Directors and staff of the Carver Community Center I want to extend the greatest level of appreciation that we can offer for the support for the free Back-To-School haircuts. This thank you is to acknowledge and extend a community thank you to the seven barbers who unselfishly gave of their own time to provide 87 young men free haircuts Aug. 5. The boys were not only treated to free haircuts but the entire family was treated to free pizza, soda, toothpaste and tooth brushes. A special recognition goes to Shawn Clark for his vision to expand the program to provide the pizzas donated by PaPa Johns, Pizza Hut and Mike’s Pizza. A thank you to Walmart and Sam’s Club for the gift cards to purchase the tooth paste and sodas and Dr. James Lindsey for the donation of tooth brushes. A special thank you goes to Josh Butler for organizing the event with the barbers and getting the donation of book bags from Caravan Facilities Management.

“This would not have been possible if was not for the following talented barbers: Josh Butler & James Warren from Cut Above Barber Shop. Joyce Coleman, Michael Cannon and Malik Anderson from MC’s Barber Shop; Quentin Freeman from Hair Affair Barber Shop; and Lentez Ellis from Mo Heads Barber Shop Indy.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll