Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 17, 2013

Cheers & Jeers: Aug. 17, 2013

(Continued)

 

Galveston Block Party hits second year

Kathy Naphew of the Galveston First Baptist Church sends out this Cheer for help with the July 27 Block Party:

“The Galveston First Baptist Church recently held our second annual Block Party. We would like to thank all of the area business that so generously donated to help make it a success.

“Dixon Park Dental’s Dr. Kimberly Beard, Walton American Legion, Deano’s Pizza, Hometown Pizza Country Design, Dog Shed, Jet Transport, Leffert Stone, King Oil, The Walton Freeze, Avalle Mechanical, 1 Stop Digital Communications, The Foxes Den, DeHaven Soil Service, Galveston Subway, Landis Auto, Galveston First Farmer Bank & Trust, Maple Grove, Tom Hayes Reality, Murray Weaver Funeral Home, Tark’s Pizza, Johnson Agency, Galveston Salin Bank, Young’s Culligan, El Arriero — Logansport, Logansport Golf Club, The Nest Miller’s Carpet, China Lane Chinese Restaurant, Wendy Orpurt-Edward Jones, Rural King, Shoe Carnival, Sam’s Club, Body Unlimited, Martin Wrecker Service, Specialty Tool & Die, Zero Gravity Inflatable’s, Cathie Parslow, Primitive Country, Uncle Bakes Pizza, RS Fit, Thirty-One- Leslie Pickering.”

 

National Night Out picnic one to remember

John J. Roberts of the Indian Heights Community Association sends this Cheer for National Night Out assistance:

“On Aug. 6, the Community of Indian Heights had a successful picnic as part of the National Night Out. We estimate 150 to 200 people showed up and had their fill of free hot dogs, drinks, and fun as children played.

 “The Indian Heights Community Association want to give a big thank you to the people who volunteered their time and talents to make the National Night Out/Indian Heights Community Picnic a huge success.  

“A big thank you to KPD Captain Kevin Summers for assisting the Indian Heights Community Association with his expertise in this type of special event. We also thank Capt. Summer’s wife, Tammy, for volunteering her time to work the event.

 “Thank you to Taylor School Board Member Bill Brubaker, along with Taylor Primary School Principle Terri Stokes for allowing the picnic to be held on school property and for supplying the event with ample tables and chairs for the large crowd who attended.  

“Thank you Meijer Store for donating prizes for the children allowing two kind and thoughtful Meijer employees; Jennifer and Bruce to assist us.

“A big thank you to Indian Heights residents and picnic volunteers DaveFord, Matt & Kay Ruddell, Cindy & Gary Harsh, Gary Klienknight, MaryHoney Roberts, John & Judy Sears, Steve & Connie Cook, and Phil Cox.

 We hope to build on the success of this year’s event and make next year’s picnic even better. Thank you all!

 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll