Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 18, 2013

Letters to the Editor: Aug. 18, 2013

We are blessed with these representatives

I would like to thank two members of the Tipton County Plan Commission for their compassion, concern, and bravery in speaking out against the further development of Industrial Wind Turbines in Tipton County at Thursday nights Plan Commission meeting.

Mr. Ashley stated unequivocally that there is no place in Tipton County for Industrial Wind Turbines. He furthered his point by saying that in 2008 when he and others were working on the ordinance they could not foresee that “ultimately Tipton would be covered with windmills over two-thirds of its geographical area”.

Mrs. Tragesser and Mr. Ashley expressed concerns over population density, property value loss, set back issues, sound issues, and safety. Mr. Ashley cited Benton County as an example, providing other members of the commission maps of turbine siting, where there might be zero to one residential properties per square mile, there are between four to six in Tipton County. He also called for a moratorium for two to three years to study the further effects of turbines, including property sales, complaint remediation, and actual tax revenue received by the county. Noting that many counties around Tipton have done the same.

Mrs. Tragesser gave an impassioned speech saying that while landowners have a right to do what they wish with their own property, it could not be at the expense of their neighbor. Stating that it is everyone’s responsibility to look out for the health and safety of our neighbors and if we were to destroy one life because of the turbines would it really be worth it?

Well said, we are truly blessed to have these people representing the citizens of Tipton County.

Theresa Vaughn, Tipton



Wind leaseholder arrogance astounds

Last night’s Tipton County Planning Board meeting of 8-15 was an eye-opener. An ad-hoc committee had worked extremely hard to address issues relating to the Wind ordinance and the board members, with a few exceptions, seemed to be very pleased with their efforts.

After some board discussions, Jim Ashley stated he always tries to represent the “will of the people” — not his own opinion. He also stated if the Wind issue were placed on the public referendum wind farms would be banned in Tipton County. Both, Helen Tragesser and Jim Ashley, showed they had done a lot of research and they indicated that Tipton County may be too populated for wind farms.

Conversely, another board member, Mr. Cohee appeared obstinate and rebelled against any real changes to the ordinance. He said with the 1,500 foot setback from a property line it would be difficult for any additional large wind farm development in Tipton County.

This is the same gentleman who voted for the 1,500 foot property line setback in the BZA meeting of March 20. Based on his comments last night, it is apparent that he hasn’t done any research and he doesn’t intend to be swayed by factual evidence.

Unlike the other board members, Cohee continues to ignore the reality that close proximity of industrial wind turbines and people cause many problems such as those in Wildcat No. 1.

He had the audacity to say he wasn’t impressed by the technical information supporting changes to the Wind ordinance. Furthermore, Cohee stated there are always winners and losers which means non-participating property owners in a wind farm are just collateral damage.

It is sad when you see someone who ignores the misery caused by wind farms and relies on directions from a backroom club. It would seem Cohee has been reprimanded by some big farm leaseholders for his March 20 vote and he would not offend them again.

It is all about the money gained or lost by the leaseholders and their buddies who are a very small minority in Tipton County.

Darrell Pennycoff, Sharpsville

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll