Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 3, 2014

Feb. 3, 2014: Weekly wrap

Help keep Indiana grads in state

Envision this group of people. Smart, top-of-their-class graduates of Indiana colleges and universities, with newly bestowed degrees in science, technology, engineering or math. They’ve got standing job offers from employers in bustling places such as San Jose, Calif.; Austin, Texas; Seattle, Wash.; Boston; Chicago; Atlanta and New York.

The grads ponder and thoroughly analyze those options, and instead decide to find a job and begin a career in Indiana.

Now, answering honestly, would you say they made the wisest choice?

The Hoosier State is a wonderful place to live, work, play and raise a family. Still, Indiana must address some lingering issues to reach the point where the response to the aforementioned question is an unequivocal “yes.”

Thousands of graduates already have answered with their feet. Each year, more than 300,000 students study at public and private institutions of higher learning in Indiana, and after commencement day, 1 of every 3 leaves the state, many for good. Those receiving graduate degrees depart more frequently. Why? The lure of bigger salaries is one obvious reason. Household incomes in 47 other states have grown at a faster rate than those in Indiana during the past decade. Yet, even if those dean’s list collegians receive a hefty offer from a steady Hoosier company, the towns and cities around those employers lack the activity and progressive lifestyle the graduates desire. Highways are bumpy. Some school districts are so strapped they’re cutting or curtailing bus service.

A sharp young woman or man with a fresh bachelor’s or master’s degree cares about such things. That’s why so many don’t stick around.

Now, imagine that somehow, some way, a thousand of the very best science, technology, engineering and math (or STEM) students stayed after graduating this coming May. And the same thing happened every May, from 2015 to 2016 and beyond. Hoosier incomes would rise. More diversified employers would set up shop here. According to trends in regions with large percentages of highly educated residents, improvement also would occur in public health, crime rates and leisure opportunities.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll