Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

February 6, 2014

BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Paying for college - you can do it!

Don't miss FAFSA submission deadline of March 10.

Paying for college is not easy but will seem less daunting after dispelling some mispercep-tions about college financing.

First, regardless of your family’s income, fill out the FAFSA (www.fafsa.ed.gov). This essential form is used by the federal and state governments and your student’s school to determine college financial aid. The application deadline is March 10. Free help in filling out the FAFSA is available at community-based sites across Indiana on College Goal Sunday, Feb. 23 (www.collegegoalsunday.org).

The College Board offers additional information and advice:

• College costs. During the last 30 years, the average published tuition and fees at four-year private schools have increased by 153 percent to $30,094 and by 231 percent to $8,893 at four-year public schools. Room and board averages an additional $9,000 to $10,000. However …

• Most families don’t pay sticker price for tuition and fees. The actual average price paid by students for tuition and fees (excluding room and board) is $3,120 at four-year public schools (65 percent below sticker) and $12,460 at four-year private schools (59 percent below sticker). In fact, after adjusting for inflation, the net cost of tuition and fees at private colleges is 8 percent lower than a decade ago.

• About two-thirds of full-time students receive financial aid. The average undergraduate receives $13,370 in financial assistance: $7,190 in grants, $4,900 in federal loans and $1,280 in tax credits, deductions and work-study.

• Good news for low-income families. A four-person household with income of $43,568 or less is eligible for Indiana’s 21st Century Scholarship and the federal Pell Grant. A student with these grants will pay nothing for tuition and fees at Indiana public schools and an average of just 10 percent of the tuition and fees at four-year private schools.

• Middle- and upper-income families can receive financial assistance. For families in the top half of household income, financial aid reduces the public school sticker price by 25 to 33 percent and the private school sticker price by 40 to 50 percent.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll