Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 6, 2014

Feb. 6, 2014: Letters to the editor

Heights doesn’t have a crime problem

Though the Indian Heights Community Association (IHCA) thanks the Kokomo Tribune for taking time to do an article on our community in Sunday’s paper (Feb. 2, 2014, p. A1), we feel the article was overly focused on the perception of crime and gives the wrong impression we have a crime problem. We don’t. We wish the Tribune’s article could have focused more on our people, our homes and our sense of community.

Indian Heights does not have a crime problem. We have no more crime than any neighborhood in Kokomo or Howard County.

Several years ago, the IHCA performed a study of calls to service from the Howard County Sheriff’s Department, comparing one year’s worth of citizens’ calls to the sheriff’s office from the communities of Indian Heights, Greentown and Russiaville. Statistically speaking, our study found there was no significant difference in crime between each community.

Indian Heights did have more calls to service, but that can be easily explained by having more population than Greentown and Russiaville. Again, statistically speaking, no discernable difference in calls to service between these three fine communities.

Indian Heights is unique because of its size, population and layout. Before annexation, Indian Heights was the second-largest, non-incorporated community in the state of Indiana. With more than 1,240 dwellings, 3,000-plus residents and 9.4 miles of paved street, it has the demographics of a small town and requires quality of life ordinances that one finds in a city.

Quality of life ordinances, we did not have.

Kokomo has always had the laws and services Indian Heights needed, but previous city administrations were in no mood for annexing. The county never had the quality of life laws and services but did its best to serve us with the tools it had. The result was Indian Heights (before annexation) was governed as though it were a row of houses on a country lane, and residents could do most anything they wanted, noise wise or property wise, as if they had cornfields of space between their property and their neighbors’. But this is not crime.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership' On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than

    April 16, 2014

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge US Supports Ukraine's Efforts to Calm Tensions Suspect in Kansas Shootings Faces Murder Charges Ukraine: Military Recaptures Eastern Airport Raw: Storm Topples RVs Near Miss. Gulf Coast NASA Showcases Lunar Eclipse Pistorius Cries During Final Cross-Examination The Boston Marathon Bombing: One Year Later Michael Phelps Set to Come Out of Retirement First Women Move to Army Platoon Artillery Jobs Sex Offenders Charged in Serial Killings Police: Woman Stored Dead Babies in Garage OC Serial Murder Suspects May Have More Victims Family: 2 Shot in Head at Kan. Jewish Center Raw: Horse Jumping Inspires 'Bunny Hop' After Attack, Officials Kill 5 Bears in Florida Popular Science Honors Year's Top Inventions ND Oil Boom Attracting Drug Traffickers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll