Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

February 7, 2014

Each is an ambassador

Pretend you’re mayor.

You’ve reduced the cost and size of government. You’ve used economic development income tax funding to spruce up parks and federal money to transform downtown into the showplace it should be. You’ve earned a can-do reputation, and people have taken notice.

You get a call from a business owner. She’s looking to relocate her factory so that it’s nearer her customers. She visits your city.

You show her and her officers around town. You introduce them to the city’s economic development team and the leaders of the local colleges who can offer job training to employees.

They like the city. You take them to dinner.

Your server sets the table and says hello. You introduce him to your guests.

He asks the business owner where she’s from. “Tennessee,” she says. “I’m thinking of moving here.”

“Why would you want to do that?” he says.

Fortunately, many residents are good community ambassadors. We and other organizations have the letters and emails to prove it.

The folks at the Greater Kokomo Economic Development Alliance recently received this one and shared it Thursday on their website:

“I have the privilege of being a very good friend of one of your citizens: Kate Mays. We’ve known each other for more than 4 decades!

“I spent a week or so of my summer of 2013 with Kate. Wasn’t hard to fall in love with Kokomo. I used to tease her for living there. We were young, and easily amused.

“Well, I got the grand tour. We visited downtown. The revitalization is apparent. It felt good to be there. It’s alive....

“All in all, I can say your city is clean, well groomed, friendly and definitely a place to live. It is comfortable. Perfect. Not too small and not too big....

“I pray your city is healing from your November nightmare. You just did not deserve that.

“See you again.....”

Our actions reflect not just our personal values but, fair or not, those of our community. When we’re polite, when we’re helpful, visitors are left with the impression that everyone else is too.

We’re all ambassadors of Kokomo. Kate Mays is a good example.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • ROB BURGESS: You've gotta keep 'em separated In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren't holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I n

    April 23, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll