Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 7, 2014

Each is an ambassador

Pretend you’re mayor.

You’ve reduced the cost and size of government. You’ve used economic development income tax funding to spruce up parks and federal money to transform downtown into the showplace it should be. You’ve earned a can-do reputation, and people have taken notice.

You get a call from a business owner. She’s looking to relocate her factory so that it’s nearer her customers. She visits your city.

You show her and her officers around town. You introduce them to the city’s economic development team and the leaders of the local colleges who can offer job training to employees.

They like the city. You take them to dinner.

Your server sets the table and says hello. You introduce him to your guests.

He asks the business owner where she’s from. “Tennessee,” she says. “I’m thinking of moving here.”

“Why would you want to do that?” he says.

Fortunately, many residents are good community ambassadors. We and other organizations have the letters and emails to prove it.

The folks at the Greater Kokomo Economic Development Alliance recently received this one and shared it Thursday on their website:

“I have the privilege of being a very good friend of one of your citizens: Kate Mays. We’ve known each other for more than 4 decades!

“I spent a week or so of my summer of 2013 with Kate. Wasn’t hard to fall in love with Kokomo. I used to tease her for living there. We were young, and easily amused.

“Well, I got the grand tour. We visited downtown. The revitalization is apparent. It felt good to be there. It’s alive....

“All in all, I can say your city is clean, well groomed, friendly and definitely a place to live. It is comfortable. Perfect. Not too small and not too big....

“I pray your city is healing from your November nightmare. You just did not deserve that.

“See you again.....”

Our actions reflect not just our personal values but, fair or not, those of our community. When we’re polite, when we’re helpful, visitors are left with the impression that everyone else is too.

We’re all ambassadors of Kokomo. Kate Mays is a good example.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll