Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 19, 2012

The right call

—  

Indiana House Speaker Brian Bosma made the right call last week in deciding to shelve a bill that would have allowed public schools to teach creationism alongside evolution in science classes.

The bill approved by the state Senate would have permitted public schools to teach creationism, as long as they included origin of life theories from multiple religions: Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Hinduism, Buddhism and Scientology.

Bosma said Tuesday he considered the proposal a lawsuit waiting to happen. He was right.

Certainly, the bill made an effort to avoid such a challenge by requiring that schools teach not only the Christian theory about the origin of the species but theories from other religions as well.

That requirement, though, made the measure even more unworkable. If they wanted to offer such instruction, schools would have been forced to choose their science teachers not just based on their knowledge of science but on their understanding of all of the world’s religions.

And even if schools found such a teacher, how much time would it take to teach all of those theories? Would the teacher have time remaining to teach the rest of the science curriculum?

The bill revealed a basic misunderstanding about scientific theory. The fact is that evolutionary biology isn’t really about the “origin of life.” It focuses on how species propagate and change over time.

There is, of course, a conflict between science and religion. Both seek to explain the mysteries of life.

Science does it through research and investigation. Religion does it through faith.

As they investigate life’s mysteries, scientists develop a hypothesis, an educated guess based on observation. They then seek to prove that hypothesis through repeated testing. Once tested, a hypothesis can become a theory, representing a summary of scientists’ current understanding.

Even for scientists, though, some things are unexplainable. Those, we accept on faith, and every religion has its own teachings, its own explanations.

This nation’s founders believed strongly in freedom of religion, that we all had the right to adopt our own beliefs and not to have someone else’s beliefs forced upon us.

The First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution bars our government from establishing an official religion.

Bosma was right. We should teach creationism in our churches and science in our schools.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll