Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 19, 2012

The right call

—  

Indiana House Speaker Brian Bosma made the right call last week in deciding to shelve a bill that would have allowed public schools to teach creationism alongside evolution in science classes.

The bill approved by the state Senate would have permitted public schools to teach creationism, as long as they included origin of life theories from multiple religions: Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Hinduism, Buddhism and Scientology.

Bosma said Tuesday he considered the proposal a lawsuit waiting to happen. He was right.

Certainly, the bill made an effort to avoid such a challenge by requiring that schools teach not only the Christian theory about the origin of the species but theories from other religions as well.

That requirement, though, made the measure even more unworkable. If they wanted to offer such instruction, schools would have been forced to choose their science teachers not just based on their knowledge of science but on their understanding of all of the world’s religions.

And even if schools found such a teacher, how much time would it take to teach all of those theories? Would the teacher have time remaining to teach the rest of the science curriculum?

The bill revealed a basic misunderstanding about scientific theory. The fact is that evolutionary biology isn’t really about the “origin of life.” It focuses on how species propagate and change over time.

There is, of course, a conflict between science and religion. Both seek to explain the mysteries of life.

Science does it through research and investigation. Religion does it through faith.

As they investigate life’s mysteries, scientists develop a hypothesis, an educated guess based on observation. They then seek to prove that hypothesis through repeated testing. Once tested, a hypothesis can become a theory, representing a summary of scientists’ current understanding.

Even for scientists, though, some things are unexplainable. Those, we accept on faith, and every religion has its own teachings, its own explanations.

This nation’s founders believed strongly in freedom of religion, that we all had the right to adopt our own beliefs and not to have someone else’s beliefs forced upon us.

The First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution bars our government from establishing an official religion.

Bosma was right. We should teach creationism in our churches and science in our schools.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Chewing over news in bite-size vignettes Today, I am going to share a few "opinionettes" about current news items. Ready? Let's go! City prosperity The unemployment rate in the United States is down to 6.7 percent. This is its lowest level since October 2008. When I remember government effo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll