Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 19, 2012

The right call

—  

Indiana House Speaker Brian Bosma made the right call last week in deciding to shelve a bill that would have allowed public schools to teach creationism alongside evolution in science classes.

The bill approved by the state Senate would have permitted public schools to teach creationism, as long as they included origin of life theories from multiple religions: Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Hinduism, Buddhism and Scientology.

Bosma said Tuesday he considered the proposal a lawsuit waiting to happen. He was right.

Certainly, the bill made an effort to avoid such a challenge by requiring that schools teach not only the Christian theory about the origin of the species but theories from other religions as well.

That requirement, though, made the measure even more unworkable. If they wanted to offer such instruction, schools would have been forced to choose their science teachers not just based on their knowledge of science but on their understanding of all of the world’s religions.

And even if schools found such a teacher, how much time would it take to teach all of those theories? Would the teacher have time remaining to teach the rest of the science curriculum?

The bill revealed a basic misunderstanding about scientific theory. The fact is that evolutionary biology isn’t really about the “origin of life.” It focuses on how species propagate and change over time.

There is, of course, a conflict between science and religion. Both seek to explain the mysteries of life.

Science does it through research and investigation. Religion does it through faith.

As they investigate life’s mysteries, scientists develop a hypothesis, an educated guess based on observation. They then seek to prove that hypothesis through repeated testing. Once tested, a hypothesis can become a theory, representing a summary of scientists’ current understanding.

Even for scientists, though, some things are unexplainable. Those, we accept on faith, and every religion has its own teachings, its own explanations.

This nation’s founders believed strongly in freedom of religion, that we all had the right to adopt our own beliefs and not to have someone else’s beliefs forced upon us.

The First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution bars our government from establishing an official religion.

Bosma was right. We should teach creationism in our churches and science in our schools.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll