Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 8, 2014

Let's pay attentionto kids, legislators

Tap children's issues a session priority

Indiana pays dearly for its reluctance to invest in its youngest residents.

State officials can improve life for all Hoosiers by making child-related issues their top priority. Indiana legislators get their chance beginning this week, as the General Assembly convenes in Indianapolis. The importance of other topics pale in comparison, and they should resist ideological diversions.

Gov. Mike Pence wants a voucher program for low-income kids to attend pre-school, and the Legislature should make it happen in the upcoming session. Its adoption should also include a firm timeline to implement the next crucial step in early childhood education — a pre-kindergarten program for all 4-year-olds in Indiana. It’s also time for Indiana to lower its mandatory age for school attendance from 7 to 5, and abandon the optional status of kindergarten.

At the same time, Pence needs to expand Medicaid under the Affordable Care Act to help hundreds of thousands of uninsured Hoosiers get proper health care and, thus, address another child-related problem in Indiana — our tragically high infant mortality rate. Likewise, the Legislature should support initiatives to reduce the state’s high rate of smoking by pregnant women.

Statistics indicate a lack of public attention to these situations. Indiana has never lowered its mandatory school attendance age from 7, one of the latest in America. Indiana is one of just 10 states that do not allocate public funds for pre-kindergarten programs. Indiana has the nation’s sixth-highest infant mortality rate at 7.7 deaths before age 1 per 1,000 live births. The primary cause, health officials say, is smoking by the pregnant mothers, and Hoosiers rank among America’s heaviest smokers.

Kids feel the consequences in each situation. The state weakens itself by allowing the ill effects to recur.

In the case of early childhood education, multiple studies indicate a rate of return at $7 for every dollar invested. Kids need less special education, remedial courses and grade repetition. Pence is pushing for limited pre-kindergarten state funding, aimed at 30,639 low-income, “at-risk” Hoosier 4-year-olds who aren’t already in Head Start or other federal programs, according to an Indiana University study cited in the Northwest Indiana Times. The estimated annual cost would be $149 million. A universal program, which Pence is not endorsing, would carry a price tag of up to $350 million a year. Leaders of the Republican majority in both houses of the Legislature are skeptical of committing to any pre-kindergarten plan, limited or full, because of its cost.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll