Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 8, 2014

Let's pay attentionto kids, legislators

Tap children's issues a session priority

Indiana pays dearly for its reluctance to invest in its youngest residents.

State officials can improve life for all Hoosiers by making child-related issues their top priority. Indiana legislators get their chance beginning this week, as the General Assembly convenes in Indianapolis. The importance of other topics pale in comparison, and they should resist ideological diversions.

Gov. Mike Pence wants a voucher program for low-income kids to attend pre-school, and the Legislature should make it happen in the upcoming session. Its adoption should also include a firm timeline to implement the next crucial step in early childhood education — a pre-kindergarten program for all 4-year-olds in Indiana. It’s also time for Indiana to lower its mandatory age for school attendance from 7 to 5, and abandon the optional status of kindergarten.

At the same time, Pence needs to expand Medicaid under the Affordable Care Act to help hundreds of thousands of uninsured Hoosiers get proper health care and, thus, address another child-related problem in Indiana — our tragically high infant mortality rate. Likewise, the Legislature should support initiatives to reduce the state’s high rate of smoking by pregnant women.

Statistics indicate a lack of public attention to these situations. Indiana has never lowered its mandatory school attendance age from 7, one of the latest in America. Indiana is one of just 10 states that do not allocate public funds for pre-kindergarten programs. Indiana has the nation’s sixth-highest infant mortality rate at 7.7 deaths before age 1 per 1,000 live births. The primary cause, health officials say, is smoking by the pregnant mothers, and Hoosiers rank among America’s heaviest smokers.

Kids feel the consequences in each situation. The state weakens itself by allowing the ill effects to recur.

In the case of early childhood education, multiple studies indicate a rate of return at $7 for every dollar invested. Kids need less special education, remedial courses and grade repetition. Pence is pushing for limited pre-kindergarten state funding, aimed at 30,639 low-income, “at-risk” Hoosier 4-year-olds who aren’t already in Head Start or other federal programs, according to an Indiana University study cited in the Northwest Indiana Times. The estimated annual cost would be $149 million. A universal program, which Pence is not endorsing, would carry a price tag of up to $350 million a year. Leaders of the Republican majority in both houses of the Legislature are skeptical of committing to any pre-kindergarten plan, limited or full, because of its cost.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership' On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than

    April 16, 2014

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge US Supports Ukraine's Efforts to Calm Tensions Suspect in Kansas Shootings Faces Murder Charges Ukraine: Military Recaptures Eastern Airport Raw: Storm Topples RVs Near Miss. Gulf Coast NASA Showcases Lunar Eclipse Pistorius Cries During Final Cross-Examination The Boston Marathon Bombing: One Year Later Michael Phelps Set to Come Out of Retirement First Women Move to Army Platoon Artillery Jobs Sex Offenders Charged in Serial Killings Police: Woman Stored Dead Babies in Garage OC Serial Murder Suspects May Have More Victims Family: 2 Shot in Head at Kan. Jewish Center Raw: Horse Jumping Inspires 'Bunny Hop' After Attack, Officials Kill 5 Bears in Florida Popular Science Honors Year's Top Inventions ND Oil Boom Attracting Drug Traffickers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll