Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

January 8, 2014

Storm stories have heroes

Sunday’s snowstorm dropped about 15 inches in the Tipton County communities of Sharpsville, Windfall and Hobbs, bringing down power lines.

Then the winds came. Temperatures plummeted. Wind chills of 40-below zero weren’t uncommon.

Residents trapped in as many as 4,000 unheated homes and travelers stranded on the county’s roads and highways were of paramount concern to the Emergency Management Agency and sheriff’s department.

Wagging war on county roads drifted shut by steady winds and heavy snow was a distant second.

“We’re spending so much time helping people right now, which is obviously our top priority,” EMA Director Chuck Bell told us Monday. “Half of the county highway crew has been out all night and [Monday], so hopefully we can get them some rest and get right back to clearing the roads.”

Tipton’s Trinity Wesleyan Church began receiving displaced residents and travelers about 5 p.m. Sunday. Forty-eight people stayed overnight.

“I think it’s more motorists than locals that have been utilizing the shelter,” Pastor of Outreach Joe Deckard said.

The word “hero” is one that seems overused in today’s lexicon, particularly in a political context. But in the coming days, as people recount their storm stories to friends and family, we’re certain the term will be used to describe those who offered assistance — the plow operators, law enforcement officers and passers-by who picked up others and drove them to safety.

“Hero” will be used to describe the many shelter volunteers in the Kokomo area who offered a mug of coffee, plate of food and their undivided attention.

It will be used to describe the Kokomo firefighters who were called to a house fire near the intersection of Vaile Avenue and Union Street early Tuesday morning, when wind chills were likely near 30-below zero.

It even will be used to describe the neighbor boy who shoveled the walk and driveway of the lady who lives alone.

Its usage will be warranted.

On behalf of ourselves and our readers, we thank the many utility linemen, police officers, emergency medical personnel, plow operators and Good Samaritans who risked the dangerous cold to help another.

There have been countless heroes in the Kokomo area these past few days.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

  • Wolfsie: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It’s a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 21, 2014

  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll