Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 22, 2013

More than a widow

THE ISSUE: Remembering the Rev. Martin Luther King Jr.

OUR VIEW: Let’s not forget his wife, Coretta Scott King, was a civil rights leader, as well.

In October 2005, Rosa Parks, the Alabama seamstress whose refusal to give up her bus seat for a white rider touched off the civil rights movement, died at 92. Three months later, another influential figure from that time passed: Coretta Scott King.

Former Atlanta Mayor Andrew Young, who broke the news of Mrs. King’s death Jan. 31, 2006, told The Associated Press her resolve rivaled that of her late husband, the Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. “She was strong if not stronger than he was,” Young said.

She likely was stronger. She had to be.

She supported and encouraged her husband during the most dangerous days of the civil rights movement. And he was its most revered and reviled leader.

The Rev. Jesse Jackson told the AP she knew that each time her husband left home, there was a chance he might not come back. After a trip to Memphis, Tenn., in 1968, he didn’t.

But Coretta Scott King wasn’t just a behind-the-scenes operative in the civil rights movement. She helped organize the bus boycott in Montgomery, Ala., that Parks started in 1955. She was at home with her first child when it was bombed in 1956. She marched beside her husband from Selma, Ala., to Montgomery in 1965.

And after her husband’s assassination, she founded the Martin Luther King Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change in 1969 — all the while raising four children.

She knew tragedy, and she probably experienced frequent loneliness. But she never stopped pushing for human rights.

“Like all great champions she learned to function with pain and keep serving,” Jackson said of Mrs. King. “She kept marching. She did not flinch.”

Coretta Scott King died the day before the 70th Black History Month got started. She was more — much more — than the widow of an American hero. She, like her husband, was a civil rights leader.

Today, the day after Martin Luther King Jr. Day, let’s not forget that.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

  • Wolfsie: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It’s a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 21, 2014

  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll