Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 23, 2013

Time to ease pot penalty?

THE ISSUE: Making possession of small amounts of marijuana the equivalent of a traffic ticket in Indiana.

OUR VIEW: This might be an idea whose time has come.

Possession of about 20 marijuana cigarettes would be the equivalent of a traffic ticket if a measure proposed by a conservative state senator becomes law.

Sen. Brent Steele, a Republican from Bedford, is sponsoring legislation to rewrite the state’s criminal code.

Among the provisions is one that makes possession of 10 grams or less of marijuana an infraction rather than a crime. If the provision passes, Indiana will join 14 states that already have rolled back their criminal penalties for marijuana possession. For many of those states, the issue is not so much about policy as economics.

When the Connecticut legislature voted last year to decriminalize marijuana possession, supporters said the move would save about $11 million in law enforcement costs. Lawmakers there and elsewhere are asking themselves whether they want to keep spending tax dollars on jailing marijuana users or on maintaining streets and sewers.

Steele doesn’t favor making marijuana possession legal. He simply thinks the state’s marijuana possession laws are too harsh. Indiana law dictates that marijuana possession is a felony unless it’s a first-time offense and the amount is less than an ounce.

The question, Steele says, is whether locking someone up for possession of a few marijuana cigarettes is a good use of tax dollars.

Steele thinks it’s not. He compares it to “smashing an ant with a sledgehammer.”

Steele isn’t talking about promoting marijuana use. He doesn’t want to do away with laws that carry tough penalties for people who drive under the influence of marijuana.

“We’re talking about simple possession, some kid caught with a couple of joints in his pocket,” he said. “Mere possession has nothing to do with use or abuse.”

Andrew Cullen, legislative liaison for the Indiana Public Defender Council, put it another way.

“No one wants to encourage the use of drugs,” he said, “but to make a low-level, recreational drug user into a felon is ridiculous.”

Frankly, such a change in the law might be inevitable. Public opinion on the issue has shifted dramatically in recent decades.

When Gallup first asked about legalizing marijuana in 1969, more than 80 percent of Americans were against it. By last year, that opposition had dropped to 46 percent.

This might be a change in the law whose time has come.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll