Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 24, 2013

Letters to the Editor: Jan. 24, 2013

Fed up with gun violence in America

More than 10,000 Americans are killed every year by guns, and several thousand wounded. Guns are used for thousands of felony crimes. America is the most gun-violent nation of all civilized countries on Earth.

Ask yourself: Are we all safe? Are we really civilized? Are we resolute on a solution to gun violence?

I call the military assault rifles a true weapon of mass destruction. A definition of a weapon of mass destruction: Any weapon that can kill a large mass of people in a short period of time. This qualifies the military assault rifle as a WMD.

The NRA spokesman says to solve the gun violence at schools is give all teachers guns in every school in America, and let the teachers fire back at the bad guys.

Brilliant! Then we will have the OK Corral of Tombstone all over again.

I’m against guns in the classroom. Schools are a place for education. The NRA spokesman sounds to me like an old-fashion Archie Bunker who just got back from Disney World.

Any politician who does not vote to ban the military assault rifles won’t get my vote. We must come up with common sense laws to try to solve the gun violence in America.

All mass murderers need to be labled as cowards and traitors to our country. Maybe put the label on their tombstones. This is a very fitting label for their crimes.

Another big reason for the extreme gun violence in America is the Hollywood movies. The garbage Hollywood brings to our theaters, the extreme violence, the bloody, gory horror movies — a person would have to be really sick in the mind to call this top-of-the-line entertainment.

Along with the violent video games, there’s no doubt all of this is causing mental illness in some of our young people. It’s affecting their minds to a point where some of them become extremely violent. Hollywood’s violent movies greatly affect America’s gun-violent culture and must change or the violence will get worse.

The NRA wants no rules. Hollywood wants no rules. The drug users in America want no rules. Heck, make your own long list of groups that want no rules.

In America, if we have no common sense rules, we have no law and order. If we don’t have law and order, we have anarchy. America must try to solve gun violence or have anarchy.

Dave Gee, Kokomo

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll