Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 24, 2013

Letters to the Editor: Jan. 24, 2013

Fed up with gun violence in America

More than 10,000 Americans are killed every year by guns, and several thousand wounded. Guns are used for thousands of felony crimes. America is the most gun-violent nation of all civilized countries on Earth.

Ask yourself: Are we all safe? Are we really civilized? Are we resolute on a solution to gun violence?

I call the military assault rifles a true weapon of mass destruction. A definition of a weapon of mass destruction: Any weapon that can kill a large mass of people in a short period of time. This qualifies the military assault rifle as a WMD.

The NRA spokesman says to solve the gun violence at schools is give all teachers guns in every school in America, and let the teachers fire back at the bad guys.

Brilliant! Then we will have the OK Corral of Tombstone all over again.

I’m against guns in the classroom. Schools are a place for education. The NRA spokesman sounds to me like an old-fashion Archie Bunker who just got back from Disney World.

Any politician who does not vote to ban the military assault rifles won’t get my vote. We must come up with common sense laws to try to solve the gun violence in America.

All mass murderers need to be labled as cowards and traitors to our country. Maybe put the label on their tombstones. This is a very fitting label for their crimes.

Another big reason for the extreme gun violence in America is the Hollywood movies. The garbage Hollywood brings to our theaters, the extreme violence, the bloody, gory horror movies — a person would have to be really sick in the mind to call this top-of-the-line entertainment.

Along with the violent video games, there’s no doubt all of this is causing mental illness in some of our young people. It’s affecting their minds to a point where some of them become extremely violent. Hollywood’s violent movies greatly affect America’s gun-violent culture and must change or the violence will get worse.

The NRA wants no rules. Hollywood wants no rules. The drug users in America want no rules. Heck, make your own long list of groups that want no rules.

In America, if we have no common sense rules, we have no law and order. If we don’t have law and order, we have anarchy. America must try to solve gun violence or have anarchy.

Dave Gee, Kokomo

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll