Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

January 30, 2013

Editorial - Jan. 30, 2013: Hoosier State says thanks

The issue: The joint resolution of the Indiana General Assembly honoring Sgt. Bradley Atwell.

Our view: In recognizing the Kokomo Marine, our lawmakers invite all Hoosiers to continue honoring our servicemen’s sacrifices.

 

With about 20 members of the late Sgt. Bradley Atwell’s family in attendance at Monday’s meeting of the Kokomo Common Council, state Reps. Mike Karickhoff and Heath VanNatter presented a joint resolution of the Indiana General Assembly, honoring the Marine’s sacrifice of Sept. 14, 2012, in Afghanistan.

On that day, 15 insurgents dressed in U.S. Army uniforms infiltrated Camp Bastion in Afghanistan’s Helmand Province. Sgt. Atwell died in the firefight, protecting his fellow warriors and the base’s aircraft and refueling stations.

Like funerals, such ceremonies as the one Monday are earnest, sacred and beautiful. They’re a time for family, friends and community to grieve their loss, celebrate a life and thank God for arranging our relationship with loved ones.

In recognizing Sgt. Atwell’s commitment to his country, the Indiana General Assembly invites all Hoosiers to continue honoring our servicemen’s sacrifices.

Sgt. Atwell was the last of nine Kokomo area soldiers and Marines killed since the terrorist attacks of Sept. 11, 2001.

His cousin, Danielle Brewster, told us last year he always intended to serve in the military. It’s a statement we’ve heard many times from family members of the area’s lost sons.

“He was always very dead-set on joining,” Brewster said of her cousin. “He never thought twice about doing it.”

And he didn’t think twice about running into danger when the insurgents attacked Camp Bastion.

“Sgt. Atwell, at the sound of enemy fire, ran and beat down doors screaming at the top of his lungs, ‘Grab your gear, Marines, and let’s go,’” said Staff Sgt. Jimbo Montemayor at Atwell’s funeral service.

Sgt. Atwell, like every other person who was born and raised here, was more than just a young man from Kokomo. He was taught in our schools. He was friends with our children. He knew many of us.

Then he joined the Air Force after briefly attending the University of Evansville and enlisted in the Marines Oct. 17, 2005. He was deployed to Afghanistan in February of last year and was set to permanently return to the U.S. in October 2012.

About 8,000 Howard County residents are military veterans, according to the local Disabled American Veterans chapter. We thank all our neighbors who served in the U.S. military.

In particular, we thank Sgt. Atwell and our other young men killed in Iraq and Afghanistan since 9/11: Army National Guard Spc. Brian Michael Clemens of Kokomo, Army Pvt. Robert McKinley of Kokomo, Army Sgt. Jarrod Black of Peru, Marine Cpl. Lance Thompson of Marion, Marine Lance Cpl. James Swain of Kokomo, Army Spc. Nathan J. Frigo of Kokomo, Army Sgt. Rickey Jones of Kokomo and Army Pfc. David Neil Simmons.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll