Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

November 30, 2012

Editorial - Nov. 30, 2012: Consider weather radio as a gift

The issue: Lessons of the Evansville tornado of November 2005.

Our view: If you’re looking for a gift for that hard-to-buy-for relative or friend, consider getting them a weather radio. Storms, floods and tornadoes can strike any time of year.

 

It was about 2 a.m. when the tornado touched down in Henderson County, Ky., Nov. 6, 2005.

The twister crossed the Ohio River and churned into a mobile-home community near Evansville, picking up some of the trailers and pitching them into a nearby pond.

Twenty-five people died that night, and more than 200 others were injured.

The National Weather Service had issued warnings for the area some 30 minutes before the tornado struck Vanderburgh County, but people were asleep. They didn’t hear the sirens. They weren’t aware of the danger.

The following year, the state Legislature mandated every new manufactured or mobile home sold in Indiana be equipped with a weather radio. And it’s why the state Department of Homeland Security has supplied weather radios to county emergency management agencies for distribution in trailer parks and areas of low income these past few years.

Howard County EMA director Larry Smith said Wednesday his agency will distribute about 90 radios it received within the last two weeks. EMA volunteers will pass them out door-to-door, just as soon as they get them programmed.

If Hoosiers learned anything from the Evansville tornado of seven years ago, it’s that such storms can touch down at any time in any month. So if you’re looking for a gift for that hard-to-buy-for relative or friend, consider getting them a weather radio. They’re inexpensive – anywhere from $30 to $40 – and can be found online and in most electronics stores.

Weather radios arguably are more reliable than tornado sirens – a horn’s blast could be difficult to hear when your windows are closed and you’re asleep. And they’re a necessity for those who live in a mobile home.

Some 20 million Americans live in manufactured homes, and the fatality rate for their residents during a tornado is more than 10 times that of permanent structures.

Storms, floods and tornadoes can strike any time of year. Purchase a weather radio and set it near your bed. It could save your life.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

  • Wolfsie: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It’s a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 21, 2014

  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Fire Engulfs Tower Block in China Ocean Drones Making Waves in Research World Breakfast Foods Are Getting Pricier Raw: Ferry Captain Received Medical Treatment Hundreds Gather for Denver Pot Rally on Easter Transcript Reveals Confusion in Ferry Evacuation Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll