Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

April 25, 2012

Editorial - April 25, 2012: Stage rules right move

The folks in charge of fairs and festivals across the state are understandably concerned about the impact of rules aimed at preventing a repeat of last summer’s state fair tragedy.

The rules are set to take effect July 1, and at this point, nobody knows for sure what they will say.

State regulators, though, say they will do their best to strike a balance. They hope to write rules that will prevent another tragedy without putting small-town festivals and county fairs out of business.

The rules being drafted by the Indiana Department of Homeland Security would cover the kind of temporary stage rigging that fell into the crowd gathered for a Sugarland concert at last summer’s state fair.

While the language is still being written, we do know the new rules will require additional inspections, and they might require event organizers to pay for plans designed and approved by engineers.

Homeland Security officials hope to have a draft of the emergency rules written by early May so fair and festival organizers around the state will know what they’re facing when they go into effect July 1.

Officials note there has been some confusion over what the new rules will cover. Some media reports have incorrectly indicated they are for temporary outdoor stages, but those stages are already regulated.

The state fire marshal’s office routinely inspects temporary outdoor stages set up at fairs and festivals across the state.

What the rules did not regulate is the kind of temporary, overhead rigging that collapsed at the state fairgrounds. A report released April 12 by engineering and safety experts hired by the state found the rigging structure didn’t meet industry standards for high winds.

And because it was “structurally independent” from the stage, the rigging wasn’t inspected.

That’s the gap in regulations the new rules will aim to close.

Some might argue the rules are being rushed into place, but supporters note they can be reviewed and modified if proven unworkable or overly cumbersome.

The point is last summer’s tragedy uncovered a gap in Indiana’s regulatory process, and it’s important the state move to fill that gap.

Regulators are right to move ahead with the new rules – even if they do create a bit of uneasiness during the process.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • ROB BURGESS: You've gotta keep 'em separated In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren't holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I n

    April 23, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll