Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

November 9, 2013

Cheers & Jeers: Oct. 9, 2013

Correction: This article in its original form incorrectly identified Loretta Sink of First Assembly of God and her role with the widows and widowers program. The corrrected title for her has now been changed throughout the text of this story. We regret the error.

Thank you Alzheimer’s Association Walkers

Denise Fosnaugh of the Alzheimer’s Association Greater Indiana Chapter sends this cheer to the people of Kokomo:

“Thanks Kokomo for a successful 2013 Walk to End Alzheimer’s.

“More than 475 Kokomo residents joined together to help raise more than $51,000 for Alzheimer’s care, support and research. We are extremely grateful for all your hard work, dedication and fundraising for Alzheimer’s.

“A special thanks to our Kokomo Walk major sponsors, Trilogy Health Services and Hoosier AM/FM Radio, our Patron sponsor, Reflections Memory Care and our Partner sponsors, Fairmont Rehabilitation, Sterling House of Kokomo, Community Howard Regional Health and St. Joseph Hospital.

“We thank our walk teams, volunteers, sponsors, emcees and flower speakers for spreading awareness in the community and supporting families and caregivers of loved ones with Alzheimer’s. Your participation in the 2013 Kokomo Walk to End Alzheimer’s has allowed us to continue to offer programs and support for the more than 120,000 Hoosiers living with Alzheimer’s. Thank you for helping us get one step closer to ending Alzheimer’s.”

 

Library staff assist First Assembly event

Loretta Sink, committee chairwoman of First Assembly of God's widows and widowers program, sends out this cheer to the Kokomo-Howard County Public Library:

“Twice a year, First Assembly of God Church in Kokomo hosts a luncheon for the widows and widowers in our congregation with a luncheon and entertaining program.

“On Oct. 29, Trisha Shively, head of the adult and teen department of the Kokomo-Howard County Public Library, joined us and assisted our guests in making a fall craft that they could then take home. She brought all the supplies needed and helped each one individually to complete their project.

“We want to thank Trisha and the library for their part in making a pleasant event for some of the widows and widowers in our community.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll