Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 10, 2013

McGroarty: Give locally so we can help in Howard Co.

Fundraising efforts are at their peak during this time of the year

What’s in your wallet, and who is asking for it? This is the time of year when all of us get lots of mail. Whether we receive holiday catalogs, special offers on publications or fundraising letters, it seems like everyone wants money from us. When it comes to those fundraising letters, we have options. There are choices between deserving organizations, and there are also choices when deciding whether to give money to large, well-recognized national organizations, or to local, smaller groups. Both deserve support, but donors only have so much to give, and decisions must be made.

In the case of animal welfare groups, there are several large national organizations. We’ve seen the commercials of pitiful animals with lovely music in the background. These animals break our hearts. These big groups, like the ASPCA, Humane Society of the United States, American Humane and others, all do good work. They lobby for more compassionate animal legislation. They offer training to shelter employees nationwide. They raise awareness of animal issues. And they promote pet adoption, despite the fact that they do not necessarily operate animal shelters themselves.

But it’s important to know that these groups are not the parent organizations of the Kokomo Humane Society, or any humane society, large or small. Every community humane society, SPCA and animal rescue league is a private, grass-roots, nonprofit organization, homegrown in their communities and serving the animals of their communities. Though they may receive funds from the large national organizations in the form of grants for specific projects, the national organizations do not regularly funnel monies to the community groups’ operating accounts. In fact, we often pay them to attend trainings or to purchase reference materials.

We like to take this time to remind our friends that the Kokomo Humane Society is a local nonprofit organization founded 122 years ago by a Kokomo school teacher. Our board of directors consists of Howard County residents. We do not receive funding from any national organization. Funds from local governments support only our animal control function, not education, outreach, adoption or other services. When you give to us, you are giving to Howard County homeless animals and helping us find a better future for them.

The Kokomo Humane Society also knows that we are not the only local agency that needs help at this time of year. There are many charities that serve children and adults in need, charities that promote the arts, and many other deserving organizations. Our hope is that local folks will remember how much these groups give to the community, and how much demand there is, especially as the weather gets cold and needs increase. We ask that you please think about giving locally, so all of us can make a difference in Howard County.

Jean McGroarty is the executive director of the Kokomo Humane Society. She can be reached at 765-452- 6224 or shelter@kokomohumane.org.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Smoking ordinance misguided As a subscriber to the printed edition of the Kokomo Tribune, and a non-smoker, I was very interested upon seeing a page one article in the Aug. 13 edition titled “City-wide ban on smoking revealed.” After reading the article, my interest was peaked

    August 22, 2014

  • Why government openness matters Failing to share information makes us weaker. It enfeebles congressional oversight, which is a cornerstone of representative democracy and which, when aggressively carried out by fully informed legislators, can strengthen policy-making. One of the fu

    August 22, 2014

  • Aug. 22: Letters to the Editor Rokita wrong on GMOsThe Aug. 13 Tribune article about Rokita’s “Town Hall Meeting” left out a key issue — Rokita’s co-sponsorship of HR4432. This bill would ban mandatory labeling of currently genetically modified foods and prohibit any state from en

    August 22, 2014

  • Use the law to save lives As college students head back to campus, it’s a good time to remind them of the Indiana Lifeline Law.When the General Assembly passed the law two years ago, the goal was to encourage minors to call for help by giving them immunity from being prosecut

    August 22, 2014

  • It's time to deal with crisis For five and a half years, the president has gone around Congress to ignore, defy and alter laws in a variety of areas, from Obamacare implementation to issuing excessive new labor and environmental rules to infringing on religious freedom. It is no

    August 21, 2014

  • Nation must be united On Aug. 9, unarmed 18-year-old Michael Brown was shot at least six times, including twice in the head, by a police officer. Since that time, protestors and unrest have filled the streets of Ferguson, Missouri, a town near St. Louis.A similar scenario

    August 21, 2014

  • John understands fight against mental illness Terre Haute native Tommy John understands all too well how the pain of depression can lead a talented entertainer like Robin Williams to commit suicide.Like Williams, John achieved national fame, posting 288 victories as a major league baseball pitch

    August 21, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor Former Kokomoan on FergusonI was a resident of Kokomo from 1992 to 2008. Because of the housing crisis, my wife and I relocated to the St. Louis, Missouri area, which is close to where I grew up. With the eyes of the world focused upon the St. Louis

    August 21, 2014

  • OPN - KT082014 - king What Fergusonsays about us Aug. 9 is a day that Americans lost sight of themselves. It is the day Michael Brown, an 18-year-old black teenager of Ferguson, Mo., a suburb of St. Louis, was shot and killed by a white police officer, Darren Wilson. That evening, and for all but o

    August 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the editor Congrats on wind farm defeat Congratulations to the citizens of Kokomo and Howard County! Your officials have done you a great favor by stopping any further considerations for construction of industrial wind turbines in your area. Now, if the fede

    August 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Okla. Policeman Accused of Sex Assaults on Duty Raw: Egypt Bus Crash Kills at Least 33 Two Bodies Found in Adjacent Yards Dominican Republic Bans Miley Cyrus Concert Raw: Israeli Air Strike in Gaza Raw: Rescue Efforts Suspended at Japan Landslide Raw: Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in Malaysia Raw: Smaller Marches in Ferguson Marathon Suspect's Friend Pleads Guilty Attorney: Utah Eatery Had Other Chemical Burn Farm Resurgence Grows With Younger Crowd Microbrewery Chooses Special Can for Its Beer Ky. Firefighters Hurt in Ice Bucket Challenge Federal Investigation Will Look at Use of Force Community Deals With Michael Brown Aftermath US: We Do Not Pay Ransom to Terrorists Ferguson Teachers Training to Deal With Trauma Jon Hamm on the Unrest in Ferguson Tit for Tat? McDonald's Shuttered in Moscow Life on the Professional Video Game Circuit
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll