Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 10, 2013

McGroarty: Give locally so we can help in Howard Co.

Fundraising efforts are at their peak during this time of the year

What’s in your wallet, and who is asking for it? This is the time of year when all of us get lots of mail. Whether we receive holiday catalogs, special offers on publications or fundraising letters, it seems like everyone wants money from us. When it comes to those fundraising letters, we have options. There are choices between deserving organizations, and there are also choices when deciding whether to give money to large, well-recognized national organizations, or to local, smaller groups. Both deserve support, but donors only have so much to give, and decisions must be made.

In the case of animal welfare groups, there are several large national organizations. We’ve seen the commercials of pitiful animals with lovely music in the background. These animals break our hearts. These big groups, like the ASPCA, Humane Society of the United States, American Humane and others, all do good work. They lobby for more compassionate animal legislation. They offer training to shelter employees nationwide. They raise awareness of animal issues. And they promote pet adoption, despite the fact that they do not necessarily operate animal shelters themselves.

But it’s important to know that these groups are not the parent organizations of the Kokomo Humane Society, or any humane society, large or small. Every community humane society, SPCA and animal rescue league is a private, grass-roots, nonprofit organization, homegrown in their communities and serving the animals of their communities. Though they may receive funds from the large national organizations in the form of grants for specific projects, the national organizations do not regularly funnel monies to the community groups’ operating accounts. In fact, we often pay them to attend trainings or to purchase reference materials.

We like to take this time to remind our friends that the Kokomo Humane Society is a local nonprofit organization founded 122 years ago by a Kokomo school teacher. Our board of directors consists of Howard County residents. We do not receive funding from any national organization. Funds from local governments support only our animal control function, not education, outreach, adoption or other services. When you give to us, you are giving to Howard County homeless animals and helping us find a better future for them.

The Kokomo Humane Society also knows that we are not the only local agency that needs help at this time of year. There are many charities that serve children and adults in need, charities that promote the arts, and many other deserving organizations. Our hope is that local folks will remember how much these groups give to the community, and how much demand there is, especially as the weather gets cold and needs increase. We ask that you please think about giving locally, so all of us can make a difference in Howard County.

Jean McGroarty is the executive director of the Kokomo Humane Society. She can be reached at 765-452- 6224 or shelter@kokomohumane.org.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

  • Keep eye out for kids

    With most local schools welcoming students in a couple of weeks — and Kokomo schools beginning class Aug. 5 (yes, a week from this coming Tuesday) — it’s important for motorists to think about safe driving as children travel to and from school.Law en

    July 23, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 23, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll