Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 10, 2013

McGroarty: Give locally so we can help in Howard Co.

Fundraising efforts are at their peak during this time of the year

What’s in your wallet, and who is asking for it? This is the time of year when all of us get lots of mail. Whether we receive holiday catalogs, special offers on publications or fundraising letters, it seems like everyone wants money from us. When it comes to those fundraising letters, we have options. There are choices between deserving organizations, and there are also choices when deciding whether to give money to large, well-recognized national organizations, or to local, smaller groups. Both deserve support, but donors only have so much to give, and decisions must be made.

In the case of animal welfare groups, there are several large national organizations. We’ve seen the commercials of pitiful animals with lovely music in the background. These animals break our hearts. These big groups, like the ASPCA, Humane Society of the United States, American Humane and others, all do good work. They lobby for more compassionate animal legislation. They offer training to shelter employees nationwide. They raise awareness of animal issues. And they promote pet adoption, despite the fact that they do not necessarily operate animal shelters themselves.

But it’s important to know that these groups are not the parent organizations of the Kokomo Humane Society, or any humane society, large or small. Every community humane society, SPCA and animal rescue league is a private, grass-roots, nonprofit organization, homegrown in their communities and serving the animals of their communities. Though they may receive funds from the large national organizations in the form of grants for specific projects, the national organizations do not regularly funnel monies to the community groups’ operating accounts. In fact, we often pay them to attend trainings or to purchase reference materials.

We like to take this time to remind our friends that the Kokomo Humane Society is a local nonprofit organization founded 122 years ago by a Kokomo school teacher. Our board of directors consists of Howard County residents. We do not receive funding from any national organization. Funds from local governments support only our animal control function, not education, outreach, adoption or other services. When you give to us, you are giving to Howard County homeless animals and helping us find a better future for them.

The Kokomo Humane Society also knows that we are not the only local agency that needs help at this time of year. There are many charities that serve children and adults in need, charities that promote the arts, and many other deserving organizations. Our hope is that local folks will remember how much these groups give to the community, and how much demand there is, especially as the weather gets cold and needs increase. We ask that you please think about giving locally, so all of us can make a difference in Howard County.

Jean McGroarty is the executive director of the Kokomo Humane Society. She can be reached at 765-452- 6224 or shelter@kokomohumane.org.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Take a walk to school At the risk of sounding like “old fogies,” we remember walking to school when we were kids.Back in the day, that’s how it was. If it was within walking distance, you were walking to school.Today, like much else, it’s a very different picture. The vas

    July 31, 2014

  • DAN COATS: New Harmony marks its 200th anniversary Situated between St. Louis and Louisville, New Harmony is a small town in southwest Indiana smaller than 1 square mile in area. Fewer than 1,000 Hoosiers call this serene Posey County community home.Despite its size, the town has monumental significa

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTERS: Marriage culture in area must change Marriage culture in area must change Last week's article on the Annie E. Casey Foundation and the Kids Count report caught my eye. While I'm happy that Indiana is improving in the educational domain, the poverty statistics are saddening. I was just s

    July 31, 2014

  • A lookat IU salaries Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 31, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Plot a plan to quit now OK, so maybe today isn’t the perfect day to quit smoking. For years, the experts were preaching any day was a good day to quit, and they had annual campaigns encouraging people to give up the habit.The campaigns raised awareness, and they led many sm

    July 30, 2014

  • LETTERS: City should celebrate its young track star City should celebrate its young track starCongratulations to Tionna Brown, who has given the city of Kokomo the platform to acknowledge what commitment, perseverance, sacrifice and determination can do.I find this a unique opportunity for her Common

    July 30, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll