Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

November 10, 2013

McGroarty: Give locally so we can help in Howard Co.

Fundraising efforts are at their peak during this time of the year

What’s in your wallet, and who is asking for it? This is the time of year when all of us get lots of mail. Whether we receive holiday catalogs, special offers on publications or fundraising letters, it seems like everyone wants money from us. When it comes to those fundraising letters, we have options. There are choices between deserving organizations, and there are also choices when deciding whether to give money to large, well-recognized national organizations, or to local, smaller groups. Both deserve support, but donors only have so much to give, and decisions must be made.

In the case of animal welfare groups, there are several large national organizations. We’ve seen the commercials of pitiful animals with lovely music in the background. These animals break our hearts. These big groups, like the ASPCA, Humane Society of the United States, American Humane and others, all do good work. They lobby for more compassionate animal legislation. They offer training to shelter employees nationwide. They raise awareness of animal issues. And they promote pet adoption, despite the fact that they do not necessarily operate animal shelters themselves.

But it’s important to know that these groups are not the parent organizations of the Kokomo Humane Society, or any humane society, large or small. Every community humane society, SPCA and animal rescue league is a private, grass-roots, nonprofit organization, homegrown in their communities and serving the animals of their communities. Though they may receive funds from the large national organizations in the form of grants for specific projects, the national organizations do not regularly funnel monies to the community groups’ operating accounts. In fact, we often pay them to attend trainings or to purchase reference materials.

We like to take this time to remind our friends that the Kokomo Humane Society is a local nonprofit organization founded 122 years ago by a Kokomo school teacher. Our board of directors consists of Howard County residents. We do not receive funding from any national organization. Funds from local governments support only our animal control function, not education, outreach, adoption or other services. When you give to us, you are giving to Howard County homeless animals and helping us find a better future for them.

The Kokomo Humane Society also knows that we are not the only local agency that needs help at this time of year. There are many charities that serve children and adults in need, charities that promote the arts, and many other deserving organizations. Our hope is that local folks will remember how much these groups give to the community, and how much demand there is, especially as the weather gets cold and needs increase. We ask that you please think about giving locally, so all of us can make a difference in Howard County.

Jean McGroarty is the executive director of the Kokomo Humane Society. She can be reached at 765-452- 6224 or shelter@kokomohumane.org.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll