Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

May 26, 2013

Forever thankful

— Monday is Memorial Day, a national holiday to remember those who have died while serving our country.

Memorial Day officially was proclaimed on May 5, 1868, when Gen. John Logan ordered flowers placed on the graves of Union and Confederate soldiers at Arlington National Cemetery.

These days, far too many tend to take Memorial Day for granted. Instead, we’ll fire up the grill, cut the grass and be thankful for a day off from work.

That’s your right.

No one will make you fly a flag in front of your house Monday, or force you to say a prayer for the fallen soldiers.

You can do whatever you choose with the holiday, thanks to your rights as an American citizen.

But if you do nothing else patriotic on Memorial Day, at the very least we ask you to stop and think about why you have those rights while so many people throughout the world do not.

The answer is quite simple: because hundreds of thousands of American military personnel have been willing to make the ultimate sacrifice in order to protect those rights.

More than 400,000 Americans died in World War II fighting for those rights. Another 36,914 never made it home from Korea, and more than 58,000 of our sons, fathers, brothers and friends lost their lives in Vietnam.

Today we focus on the war in Afghanistan, where more than 2,000 have lost their lives.

There will always be battles to be fought.

Fortunately for all of us, there will always be brave Americans willing to charge into that battle to protect our way of life.

For that, every American citizen should be forever thankful.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll