Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 19, 2014

House of Burgess: Limestone Comedy Festival guide II

Oswalt, Philips, Pardo coming to Bloomington.

(Continued)

Eight years after its founding, the total number of episodes now reaches into the four-digit arena. The show has been recorded in Bloomington twice, and is scheduled to do so again at the festival.

I also always enjoy hearing Pardo guest star on other podcasts because of his quick mind. I often suffer from what the French call “l'esprit d'escalier,” or “staircase wit,” which means I’ll think of the perfect thing to say long after the moment has passed. Pardo doesn’t seem to have this problem.

“What I’m good at, is being funny in the moment,” Pardo told me, “because not everybody can do it.”

In fact, he’s so good at it, since 2009 he has also been working the self-described “best job in the world” as warm-up comic for Conan O’Brien, first at “The Tonight Show,” and now at “Conan.”

Patton Oswalt

Almost 10 years ago, it was the summer between my junior and senior years at Indiana University. I have so many memories of my friends and me sitting around listening to the debut album by Patton Oswalt, “Feelin’ Kinda Patton.” His bits on topics including Black Angus Steakhouse, Stella D’Oro Breakfast Treats, Robert Evans and PAAS Easter Eggs made me laugh so hard my abdominal muscles were in real pain. It was then I decided Oswalt was firmly in my top five comedians ever, alongside the likes of George Carlin and Bill Hicks (the latter of whom Oswalt just released a tremendous essay about to commemorate the 20th anniversary of his death.)

In the decade since, Oswalt has proven himself repeatedly as a true polymath: starring in great movies (“Big Fan,” “Young Adult”); appearing in hilarious TV shows (“Portlandia,” “Reno 911!”); performing voice-overs (“Ratatouille,” “Aqua Teen Hunger Force Zombie Ninja Pro-Am”); releasing more fantastic stand-up albums (“Werewolves and Lollipops,” “My Weakness Is Strong”); and writing books (including several comic books, and the memoir “Zombie Spaceship Wasteland.”)

“I have a second memoir that’s going to come out either later this year, or early next year,” he told me. I only feel surer about my original decision. I’ve yet to be disappointed.

Rob Burgess, Tribune night editor, may be reached by calling 765-454-8577, via email at rob.burgess@kokomotribune.com or on Twitter at twitter.com/robaburg.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll