Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

October 26, 2012

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 26, 2012

Kokomo — Re-elect Cristi Brewer-Allen

On Nov. 6, I hope that everyone will go to the polls and vote. This is not only a right, but a privilege for all of us in our great and wonderful country. We will not only be electing officials at the national and state level, but also at the local.

This year we will be electing local school board members during the fall election instead of during the spring primary. This is occurring as a result of legislation from the state of Indiana.

I have had the privilege of serving as a member of the Kokomo-Center Township Consolidated School Board for the last four years. Cristi Brewer-Allen has served on this board with me since 2008. Ms. Brewer-Allen is dedicated to making sure that our schools are safe and that our curriculum is rigorous and will meet the needs of our students in a global economy.

She has previously worked directly with students in our schools as a Title I small group instructor and parent involvement coordinator.

Over the past four years Cristi has grown into an outstanding board member. Her primary emphasis as a board member has been helping children with special needs and those who are socio-economically disadvantaged. She has been a staunch supporter of our new International Baccalaureate program and the integrated arts program at Wallace, which will raise the standard of learning and curriculum for the students of Kokomo-Center.

In addition, she has been a supporter of the alternative education program at McKinley, as well as, the twilight program at Kokomo High School, which brings the opportunity for students, including adults who may have dropped out of school, to earn a high school diploma.

She truly has a passion for the children of our school corporation and will speak out without reservation for their cause or to improve their needs. She spends a great deal of time visiting schools to look at programs and to give her support in any way possible.

As a fellow board member, she always is willing to work with other board members in a harmonious fashion to find resolution to educational issues and concerns. She understands the realities of establishing priorities in order to use, in a prudent way, the limited resources that are appropriated for our students and staff. She is always willing to take the time to listen to the concerns of a child or a parent.

Cristi Brewer-Allen is an advocate for public education and keeps up to date with the laws pertaining to education. I believe with her experience and knowledge gained over the past four years, it would be in the best interest of our children to re-elect Christi Brewer-Allen to the Kokomo-Center Schools Board of Education.

Harold Canady, Kokomo

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll