Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 26, 2012

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 26, 2012

Kokomo — Re-elect Cristi Brewer-Allen

On Nov. 6, I hope that everyone will go to the polls and vote. This is not only a right, but a privilege for all of us in our great and wonderful country. We will not only be electing officials at the national and state level, but also at the local.

This year we will be electing local school board members during the fall election instead of during the spring primary. This is occurring as a result of legislation from the state of Indiana.

I have had the privilege of serving as a member of the Kokomo-Center Township Consolidated School Board for the last four years. Cristi Brewer-Allen has served on this board with me since 2008. Ms. Brewer-Allen is dedicated to making sure that our schools are safe and that our curriculum is rigorous and will meet the needs of our students in a global economy.

She has previously worked directly with students in our schools as a Title I small group instructor and parent involvement coordinator.

Over the past four years Cristi has grown into an outstanding board member. Her primary emphasis as a board member has been helping children with special needs and those who are socio-economically disadvantaged. She has been a staunch supporter of our new International Baccalaureate program and the integrated arts program at Wallace, which will raise the standard of learning and curriculum for the students of Kokomo-Center.

In addition, she has been a supporter of the alternative education program at McKinley, as well as, the twilight program at Kokomo High School, which brings the opportunity for students, including adults who may have dropped out of school, to earn a high school diploma.

She truly has a passion for the children of our school corporation and will speak out without reservation for their cause or to improve their needs. She spends a great deal of time visiting schools to look at programs and to give her support in any way possible.

As a fellow board member, she always is willing to work with other board members in a harmonious fashion to find resolution to educational issues and concerns. She understands the realities of establishing priorities in order to use, in a prudent way, the limited resources that are appropriated for our students and staff. She is always willing to take the time to listen to the concerns of a child or a parent.

Cristi Brewer-Allen is an advocate for public education and keeps up to date with the laws pertaining to education. I believe with her experience and knowledge gained over the past four years, it would be in the best interest of our children to re-elect Christi Brewer-Allen to the Kokomo-Center Schools Board of Education.

Harold Canady, Kokomo

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

  • Keep eye out for kids

    With most local schools welcoming students in a couple of weeks — and Kokomo schools beginning class Aug. 5 (yes, a week from this coming Tuesday) — it’s important for motorists to think about safe driving as children travel to and from school.Law en

    July 23, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 23, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll