Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 26, 2012

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 26, 2012

Kokomo — Re-elect Cristi Brewer-Allen

On Nov. 6, I hope that everyone will go to the polls and vote. This is not only a right, but a privilege for all of us in our great and wonderful country. We will not only be electing officials at the national and state level, but also at the local.

This year we will be electing local school board members during the fall election instead of during the spring primary. This is occurring as a result of legislation from the state of Indiana.

I have had the privilege of serving as a member of the Kokomo-Center Township Consolidated School Board for the last four years. Cristi Brewer-Allen has served on this board with me since 2008. Ms. Brewer-Allen is dedicated to making sure that our schools are safe and that our curriculum is rigorous and will meet the needs of our students in a global economy.

She has previously worked directly with students in our schools as a Title I small group instructor and parent involvement coordinator.

Over the past four years Cristi has grown into an outstanding board member. Her primary emphasis as a board member has been helping children with special needs and those who are socio-economically disadvantaged. She has been a staunch supporter of our new International Baccalaureate program and the integrated arts program at Wallace, which will raise the standard of learning and curriculum for the students of Kokomo-Center.

In addition, she has been a supporter of the alternative education program at McKinley, as well as, the twilight program at Kokomo High School, which brings the opportunity for students, including adults who may have dropped out of school, to earn a high school diploma.

She truly has a passion for the children of our school corporation and will speak out without reservation for their cause or to improve their needs. She spends a great deal of time visiting schools to look at programs and to give her support in any way possible.

As a fellow board member, she always is willing to work with other board members in a harmonious fashion to find resolution to educational issues and concerns. She understands the realities of establishing priorities in order to use, in a prudent way, the limited resources that are appropriated for our students and staff. She is always willing to take the time to listen to the concerns of a child or a parent.

Cristi Brewer-Allen is an advocate for public education and keeps up to date with the laws pertaining to education. I believe with her experience and knowledge gained over the past four years, it would be in the best interest of our children to re-elect Christi Brewer-Allen to the Kokomo-Center Schools Board of Education.

Harold Canady, Kokomo

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll