Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 27, 2013

Salvaging fallout from Penn State

You’d probably have a difficult time finding the good that came out of what Jerry Sandusky did during his time affiliated with the Penn State University football program.

The former assistant coach, accused of using his access with the team to lure boys and then molesting them, is in jail for what he did. A football program and a university are trying to live down any roles played that allowed him to operate the way he did.

But maybe this will pass as a means of salvaging a bit of the situation.

Penn State, as part of the sanctions tied to Sandusky’s crimes, forfeited its share of the payouts the Big Ten Conference raked in during the football bowl season. Each school’s share of the conference haul was roughly $2.3 million. The Big Ten took that money and shared it among the other schools.

Purdue’s share was a bit more than $188,000.

Purdue, in turn, donated that money to four Greater Lafayette programs aimed at kids, in the classroom and out. The recipients are Read to Succeed, College Mentors for Kids, Junior Achievement and Purdue’s PALS camp program.

“The circumstances that generated the funds are very disappointing,” said James Taylor, executive director of United Way of Greater Lafayette, which helps oversee the Read to Succeed volunteer efforts in local grade schools. “But we’re very pleased with how Purdue has chosen to invest that money into the community.”

Well put. And well played by Purdue.

— Journal & Courier, Lafayette

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Chewing over news in bite-size vignettes Today, I am going to share a few "opinionettes" about current news items. Ready? Let's go! City prosperity The unemployment rate in the United States is down to 6.7 percent. This is its lowest level since October 2008. When I remember government effo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll