Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 29, 2013

ED VASICEK: Immaturity in Washington

Immaturity in Washington just won't stop

(Continued)

Remember when the Democrats in Indianapolis left the state because they knew they would lose the vote if present? Child’s tricks, if you ask me. Immature. When are people going to grow up?

Some readers are old enough to remember when nominee Judge Bork was thrown into the meat grinder by a partisan Senate committee. On and on it goes.

How long has it been since our legislators followed the rules of fair play? Perhaps never, but the problem comes to light frequently in modern times.

Right now, the Republicans are the sore losers. The Democrats passed Obamacare fair and square. I do not like the bill, and I would support efforts to vote it down. But I do not advocate throwing away the rules of fair play just to get my way (I’m a poet and didn’t know it).

The Republicans cannot get enough votes to override a presidential veto in their attempt to negate Obamacare, so now they are mimicking what the Democrats did a few years back, a case of “monkey see, monkey do.” Neither party knows how to lose well, which is a sad commentary on the maturity level of our elected officials.

According to Reuters, “The CNBC poll reported that by a 59-19 percent margin, respondents opposed linking defunding of ‘Obamacare’ to a possible shutdown starting on October 1, or to a failure to raise the government’s borrowing authority, meaning Washington may not be able to pay all of its bills by sometime in October or early November.”

The tactic is clear, and America doesn’t like it: Defund Obamacare, or we will take our ball and bat and end the game.

I believe our elected officials are out for the best interest of our nation; I am not a cynic. But passionate feelings and burning concern for America’s future must be contained within the rules of fair play. America elected the Senate and House that passed Obamacare, and America elected President Obama not once, but twice.

Our elected officials need to accept that reality, to fight fair and learn to be good losers. Fighting fair does not mean justifying child-like behavior in the name of consistency (“they did it”). Mature people do not learn their behavior from the immature. The vicious circle needs to be broken.

Ed Vasicek is pastor of Highland Park Church and a weekly contributor to the Kokomo Tribune. Contact him at edvasicek@gmail.com.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll